Kevin
Vehicle(s)
'17 GT350

Bcobb85

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
GT350
The pistons and rings have been revised for tighter clearances for 18+ engines. The factory specs (tolerances) for piston to cylinder wall clearance minimums are now less than half of what they were in earlier engines..
The new OEM pistons are much more expensive too. Like $160+ each now. There is a new chain tension revision also due out this spring. I just noticed the new part number is JL3Z -6L266-B. you might want to check into the revised pistons and rings if you were experiencing "excessive" oil consumption.
***Disclaimer: I am a total noob when it comes to the specifics of engine building so please forgive my question if it is a dumb one.***

Aside from reduced oil consumption and piston rattle at cold temps, are there any other benefits from the tighter clearances on the revised motors? Increase in power perhaps?

Also, Are there any downsides?

It seems that some of the revisions that the Voodoo has received have been more focused on reducing customer complaints than improving the design/performance of the motor. For example, dealers/customers were having issues following the manual with tightening the original oil filters properly, so Ford revised the filter to make it more idiot proof and reduce the likelyhood of incorrect installation. With the same logic, could the revised piston/cylinder wall clearances be more a result of the oil consumption/piston rattle complaints and less an improvement in design/performance of the motor itself?

OP
OP
honeybadger

honeybadger

Just don't care
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Kevin
Vehicle(s)
'17 GT350
***Disclaimer: I am a total noob when it comes to the specifics of engine building so please forgive my question if it is a dumb one.***

Aside from reduced oil consumption and piston rattle at cold temps, are there any other benefits from the tighter clearances on the revised motors? Increase in power perhaps?