Sponsored

Broken crankshaft

olaosunt

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Guard,base,M6,KB-2.DIB,auto,Hellion TT,2016 GT 350/Gen 3 Whipple ,2018 Mustang GT/Gen 5 Whipple
Predator crank is made of a stronger steel vs gt/boss crank.
Hmmm . I heard different ....but would be happy if you could confirm .

Predator crank can be used in any 5.2 or 5.0 block. A 5.2 specific rod (.8281 pin bore, smaller than coyote) and 5.2 specific piston (1.155 comp height, shorter than coyote) will need to be used. Be sure to run thick wall wrist pins on boosted setups when going this route.

I think you can use any after market rod (same big end size ) with that crank , just have to use a piston with the shorter CH
or the CR will be higher with a standard coyote piston .... I think (I am no expert ).

If someone twists my arm enough (and is willing to pay $$) I could be persuaded to sell minešŸ˜Ž
predator block /5.2 crank /voodoo (Mahle pistons ) with the shorter compression height and Manley H beam with the tapered end for the smaller size pin .
I am not sure any of the aftermarket companies (Mahle -same as stock , JE and Diamond )making the voodoo spec pistons that require the smaller diameter pin have a thick wall option .

4A42C00C-3F71-4A44-80D5-2A6A9AF4C8BE.jpeg
Sponsored

K4fxd

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dan
Vehicle(s)
2017 gt, 2002 FXDWG, 2008 C6,
In the early days of centrifugal superchargers, before we realized the need for BOVs, cogged belts were responsible for quite a few broken crankshafts.
Must really be a weak crank, there is no way a cogged belt will need to be as tight as a smooth one.

bankyf

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mustang GT Premium PP1
Must really be a weak crank, there is no way a cogged belt will need to be as tight as a smooth one.
They certainly weren't strong cranks on the old 302s, but typically only broke with the cog setups. Had to do with belt slip being a necessary at certain times.

80FoxCoupe

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)