Installing LT headers tips

331GT

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dennis
Vehicle(s)
1995 DFG GT vert, 2019 Oxford White GT PP1
buddy of mine is going to install LT's on his 2021 10spd, I think he got Texas Speed catless. i offered to help him out since he doesnt have the tools. never done this, ive done shorties on an SN95 car but not much on an S550, and i imagine it's a bit different between the two chassis and these being LTs.

i saw something about having to lift the trans? is this always necessary? any other useful advice of things to expect to run into? i was hoping to have it done in a day, i wont be free till about 11 am saturday and we're hoping to finish it saturday. is this likely? my skill lever is intermediate-ive pulled my own engine in my SN, stuff like that, etc, but I am by no means a pro-his skill level is unknown.
Sponsored

BMAGOO

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT/CS, 2016 Explorer Sport, 2015 Ram 1500 Sport, 1968 Firebird
Vehicle Showcase
You should be able to download install instructions. After reading the install instructions for mine, I decided to get an exhaust shop to do it. I'm more than capable of doing it but it's a 6-8 hour install for pros. Actually took the shop 9 hours to do mine but at least they did a great job and nothing is touching. I remember reading you have to remove a few things and jack the motor up a bit if I recall correctly.

NGOT8R

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Adrian
Vehicle(s)
2019 Bullitt

Strokerswild

Shallow and Pedantic
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dave
Vehicle(s)
Things With Wheels
I've installed headers in many vehicles, including such utter bastards as an FE-equipped '60s Mustang.

That said, installing headers in these cars looks like a great way to create new swear words.

NGOT8R

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Adrian
Vehicle(s)
2019 Bullitt
I've installed headers in many vehicles, including such utter bastards as an FE-equipped '60s Mustang.