Sponsored

Being smooth while driving M trans?

Hack

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang, Camaro
Maybe it's that I am inept, but I think it's normal to have non-smooth power application in a vehicle with a higher power to weight ratio and a manual transmission. I've been driving manual transmission cars for 40+ years and I'm not very smooth at it.

And that's why I enjoy driving cars with a manual transmission. Sometimes I get it right and almost perfect, but it's definitely not every time. So it gives me something to work on every time I get in the car.
Sponsored

NightmareMoon

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT PP
Vehicle Showcase
Upshifting is pretty easy, but if you try to go too fast or two slow (or you donā€™t supply the right amount of throttle), then it can be harsh. If the car lurches slower, you didnā€™t give enough throttle or shifted too late. If it lurches forward, you gave too much or shifted too soon.

Look up double clutch rev match downshifts. Theres a 3rd rotatating mass (besides the engine and axle/rear wheels) which has to be at a happy matching speed to get a car into gear. Syncros on modern cars make it so most people donā€™t have to pay much attention, but if you really learn whats going on you can do a buttery smooth and fast downshift too.

OP
OP
Prodigal

Prodigal

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Mach 1
The rev matching feature in the Mach 1 actually make down shifting a piece of cake.

PC_GUARD

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Scott
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT PP1
The rev matching feature in the Mach 1 actually make down shifting a piece of cake.
I'm on gen 2, and I'm not sure if I had an auto rev match I'd be able to accept it lol

Although roll racing I think it would be very handy.

ajsfirehawk

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Alan
Vehicle(s)
2023 EG M6 Mach 1 ordered. 12/1; Received 2/3