Sponsored

Oil Consumption Concern

imbadatthis

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
GT350
So, I burned ~2.5 Qts of oil (Motorcraft) during a ~400 mile highway drive and half day track session. Photos attached are also very concerning as this crap is coming from the exhaust.

I am very concerned; but I am a rookie. Should I be concerned?
IMG_20190525_061637.jpg
IMG_20190525_063706.jpg
IMG_20190525_061701.jpg
Sponsored

mkonrad

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350 Oxford White
Vehicle Showcase
Are you sure you’re reading it right? I don’t mean to be snide, but are you sure you aren’t looking at it since last oil change or longer? Reading it cold vs hot?

My car doesn’t burn much oil. Over a full weekend of hpde, with drive to and from track, I lose under a quart, maybe from midway between oil dipstick mark to the low hole. I see a little soot, enough for a dirty white car, but nothing substantial. And my favorite track, farther away from me but slower, I lose even less. 400 miles and two four session days and my dipstick barely moves.

If you’re sure of your data you need a trip to the dealer.

TDC

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350, 2019 Challenger Scat Pack Widebody, 2019 Corvette Grand Sport
I'd be concerned. Make sure you consistently measure oil level after the engine has been shut down for awhile and on level ground.

For comparison my car goes to and from the track 300 miles plus the full track day with no consumption.

Sponsored

Tomster

Beware of idiots
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Tom
Vehicle(s)
'20 RR GT500R(CFTP), 18 OW GT350R Base, '17 AG GT350R Electronics Pack, '97 PG Cobra Convertible
Top it off and start keeping track of it and when/if it is indeed oil consumption, then post here.

Not the end of the world if it is consuming oil. It would probably mean some valve work.

OP
OP
imbadatthis

imbadatthis

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
GT350
Thanks all.