Surging throttle

TW Merema

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
TW
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mustang GT
Hello guys, I just bought a 2020 GT with a Borla Type S exhaust and no other engine mods that I know of. I have noticed the surging in the video occurs while steady state cruising, it doesn't really seem to matter what gear though it's noticeable most in 4th-6th at lower RPM's. Here is a video, I used the vacuum gauge to illustrate that there seems to be something weird going on with the throttle perhaps?

I also noticed the grill shutters moving a lot while it was idling the other day, and I have the code in the attached pic for the air shutter limit switches. I had it at the dealer today for the PCM recall, hoping the reprogramming would help but it doesn't seem to have. The tech there blamed the Borla (of course) and said it was causing air surges. I'll admit I am not a mechanic but I have an awful lot of experience with modified cars and never had that happen with a cat-back. Anyone else have this issue, if so what is the fix?

DTC.jpg
Sponsored

Zelek

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Vehicle(s)
2021 Mustang Mach 1
That has absolutely nothing to do with the catback. It could be a malfunctioning active grill shutter though. Something may have damaged the connector or it's unplugged.

KingKona

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Shlomo
Vehicle(s)
2019 GT
Take.

It.

In.

OP
OP
TW Merema

TW Merema

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
TW
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mustang GT
That has absolutely nothing to do with the catback. It could be a malfunctioning active grill shutter though. Something may have damaged the connector or it's unplugged.
I did check, the shutter seems to be plugged in and the plug is fine. Car only has 6,000 miles on it so unlikely that anything is broken or damaged but you never know.

OP
OP
TW Merema

TW Merema

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
TW
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mustang GT
Take.

It.

In.