2018 Digital Cluster Installation Guide

Discussion in 'Infotainment and Electronics (Nav, Audio, Video, Bluetooth)' started by breeves002, Mar 2, 2018.

  1. frestylmotox01

    frestylmotox01 Active Member

    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Vehicle(s):
    18 GT PP1, 14 F150 Limited
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Location:
    NH
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    0   0   0
    So I've receive and installed my cluster. But it appears to be a Bullitt cluster, I've got the Bullitt startup animation and the 180 MPH speedo. Is this something that can be adjusted in As Built or does it require a different firmware/different cluster?

    Either way, this is definitely my favorite upgrade for the car so far. Totally worth all of the research, money, and time. '

    Thanks to everyone who contributed to this to make it possible.
     
  2. db252

    db252 Equinsu Ocha

    Vehicle(s):
    16 GT Premium/PP/Nav
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    647
    Rating:
    100%
    4   0   0
    Yeah that can’t be changed at all through forscan. A reprogram or exchange is the only way to ‘fix’ that. Either way, you’re removing the cluster, boxing it up and sending it out if you are wanting the standard digital cluster.
     
  3. Azwakeboarder

    Azwakeboarder Member

    First Name:
    Todd
    Vehicle(s):
    2018 Mustang
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2019
    Location:
    AZ
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    0   0   0
    Thanks p6cl I will take a look at that line. Since I don't have that option that would make sense.
     
  4. frestylmotox01

    frestylmotox01 Active Member

    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Vehicle(s):
    18 GT PP1, 14 F150 Limited
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Location:
    NH
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    0   0   0
    That's what I figured. Its not a big enough deal to swap, if I could program it, I would, but not worth removing it or swapping. Thanks.
     
  5. p6cl

    p6cl Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ray
    Vehicle(s):
    2016 Ford Mustang GT Convertible
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Near Cleveland OH
    Posts:
    200
    Likes Received:
    85
    Occupation:
    Police Officer
    0   0   0
    #1190 p6cl, Aug 5, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2019
    I had the speedo upgrade at one time. You can turn off the start up animation in the ipc. Adaptive cruise does not work with it, at least at this time as it is not an option on the bulitt.

    This has been fixed by StangB and works now with the 180mph Speedo and Adaptive Cruise.
     
  6. HoosierDaddy

    HoosierDaddy Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2016 GT Premium PP and a few others
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Location:
    Winchestertonfieldville (ok, Scottsdale), AZ
    Posts:
    4,753
    Likes Received:
    2,220
    Rating:
    100%
    2   0   0
    What was the source? Was it supposed to be a new or used cluster?
     
  7. randy_tho

    randy_tho Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2017
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Posts:
    349
    Likes Received:
    103
    0   0   0
    Seems like you can change that startup animation also to regular, gt350 and Bullit. Maybe the Bullit is excluded though ...
     
  8. frestylmotox01

    frestylmotox01 Active Member

    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Vehicle(s):
    18 GT PP1, 14 F150 Limited
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Location:
    NH
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    0   0   0
    I purchased from eBay, see the link below. I’m by no means upset, I’m very happy with my purchase, it’s brand new and for the correct configuration (manual/mph) but I wasn’t expecting a bullitt cluster, just wondered if I could adjust it.

    https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https://www.ebay.com/ulk/itm/223471690896

    I would have purchased from auto nation, but the 300 core charge kinda killed it for me.
     
  9. Cobra Jet

    Cobra Jet Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2018 EB Prem. w/PP and 94 Mustang Cobra
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Location:
    NJ
    Posts:
    4,765
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Rating:
    100%
    2   0   0

    Can the Bullitt cluster be used in a 10R80 equipped S550? Only asking because based on that ad in the link, they are saying it’s for an S550 with 6-speed MT82.
     
  10. frestylmotox01

    frestylmotox01 Active Member

    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Vehicle(s):
    18 GT PP1, 14 F150 Limited
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Location:
    NH
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    0   0   0
    I don't believe so since the Bullitt was only manual. I'm guessing that you could get it flashed by breeves or one of the other vendors, but I believe the added cost would make that not worth buying from them and just getting it right from Ford.

    FYI that vendor had them available for the autos and basically all the configurations as well. Sounds like he gets new stock often. He didn't have the manual/mph available in an auction when I contacted him, but he got them in a a day later, I'd suggest messaging him to find out.
     
  11. re-rx7

    re-rx7 Ruck the night away

    First Name:
    Brandon
    Vehicle(s):
    19 5.0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Location:
    Gainesville, Tx
    Posts:
    718
    Likes Received:
    212
    Occupation:
    Service Advisor
    0   0   0
    I have a 19 premium and my friend has a 19 base to which he upgraded to the digital cluster. He updated his ecu to take advantage of the features with forscan. If I buy his digital cluster will it be plug and play with my premium as far as what features my car comes standard with? Will the miles be the same as I have now? It a really gd price he is asking since he is trading it in. Thanks in advance.
     
  12. frestylmotox01

    frestylmotox01 Active Member

    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Vehicle(s):
    18 GT PP1, 14 F150 Limited
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Location:
    NH
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    0   0   0
    You should be able to plug in it and it should work for the most part, but unless you have the same options exactly, you will most likely have to change it in forscan at least a little. It’s pretty easy, so I wouldn’t be to worried about it, just buy the module and download forscan and follow any of the various instructions in this thread or all over the site.

    The miles will be whatever he had on it, you can add miles to that number but if you have less you can’t take them away in forscan. You would have to send it out to be reprogrammed.
     
    re-rx7 likes this.
  13. mikes2017gt

    mikes2017gt Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT Prem M/T 3.55
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts:
    747
    Likes Received:
    212
    0   0   0
    #1198 mikes2017gt, Aug 11, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2019
    Add me to the list of successful cluster swaps! Big thanks to Sam Breeves! I bought the complete kit and everything worked right out of the box, except the TPS. I had to relearn that, but everything else was perfect and worked straight away. I took my sweet time and the swap took roughly 3.5 hours. As with most things, if I had to do another swap, I could do it in half the time. I didn't want to break any trim panels or lose any clips, so I really went slowly.

    My lessons learned:

    Best video to show how the swap is done:
    Best video to show how to get the airbag off, which is Step 1. Bill shows a closeup of what the springs look like and where they are:

    The biggest worry for me was cutting out the panel, but that turned out to be pretty easy. I highly recommend you follow what the guy in the first video does when cutting the top of the panel; he pulls it away from the air duct right behind it. I was VERY careful when I cut across the top and didn't even nick the air duct. Ironically, the panel is thicker plastic than the air duct is, so it would be too easy to damage it. Pull the panel away from the duct while cutting and carefully control your depth of cut and you'll be just fine. If a ham-fisted caveman like me can do it, you can too.

    Some pics.

    I used an oscillating multi tool to do the cutting. It was like $15 at Harbor Freight.
    IMG_20190811_155023338 (Medium).jpg

    The blade on the tool.
    IMG_20190811_155023338 (Medium).jpg IMG_20190811_155025650 (Medium).jpg

    Went thru the panel like butter. First cut:
    IMG_20190811_155101769 (Medium).jpg

    Second cut:
    IMG_20190811_155106499 (Medium).jpg

    Cut across the top. Note the hook-shaped piece at the upper-right. I could've cut it shorter but I was OK. At the length shown it clears the cluster by about 3/8"
    IMG_20190811_155528201 (Medium).jpg

    End result
    IMG_20190811_155558490 (Medium).jpg

    I detest rattles in anything but racecars and old trucks. I had this old speaker gasket foam tape laying around. It's 1/2" wide and about 1/4" thick, uncompressed.

    IMG_20190811_160938289 (Medium).jpg

    I did my best to determine where the cluster was resting against what's left of the rear, plastic panel and I put 3 strips across that point.

    IMG_20190811_161005667 (Medium).jpg

    I put the cluster in and pressed it against the foam to try and see where it was actually hitting. If you look closely at the bottom row of foam, right side, you can see the imprint of the heatsink on the back of the cluster. Not as much contact as I'd have hoped, but I can tell you that w/the foam, the cluster is in there nice and snug. No rattles or movement.

    IMG_20190811_161108908 (Medium).jpg

    Finally, the mandatory "Here's my digital cluster in all its' glory" pic.

    IMG_20190811_174856670 (Medium).jpg


    I took a cruise to Walmart...hey, we needed stuff...don't laugh. ;) to check it out and all is well! Everything works; voice commands, nav, cruise control, etc. Will take me a little time to get used to having the radio and cluster controls swapped L/R, and what all the new features are, but those are First World Problems. :D

    Very happy so far. I must say, after finding this thread a few weeks back, I really felt that the stock, analog cluster in my '17 was dated and looked out of place. Now the dash truly befits the modified, fast car that its' in!

    Big thanks again to Sam Breeves. I didn't have to do any fiddling with Forscan. This was truly plug and play. Very happy.
     
    Lawguy85 likes this.
  14. opengl128

    opengl128 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2018 GT PP1 400A 6MT
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Location:
    PA
    Posts:
    82
    Likes Received:
    61
    0   0   0
    I got mine from the same seller (luckily got mine for $850 last week, looks like they just raised the price to nearly $1000!) and also ended up with a Bullit cluster. I don't mind it much (the 180mph speedo is cool!) but have heard there's a forscan code to adjust the startup animation. Anyone have it handy?

    Loving the conversion (another thanks to breeves for the excellent writeup and the baseline IPC codes as well, really helpful!)

    Got everything coded in and working great. IMG_9402.jpg
     
    mikes2017gt likes this.
  15. Nyx the Alpha Wolf

    First Name:
    John
    Vehicle(s):
    2017 Mustang Eco Premium
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2018
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    0   0   0
    Did you find a specific forum or anything to for the ACC installation, or did you just use this one? (https://www.mustang6g.com/forums/threads/diy-adaptive-cruise-control-im-looking-for-info.99458/)

    Was looking at installing it, and just want backup locations incase something isn't clear about the install, since it's going to be my first hardware addition instead of just a swap like this display or anything small like that.
     
Loading...

Share This Page