G-LOC R10 experiences?

BimmerDriver

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Michael
Vehicle(s)
GT convertible w/3 pedals, BMW M550i
I bought some used Steeda slotted 2-piece rotors from a fellow forum member, and he threw in the G-LOC R10 front pads. I bought new R8 rear pads. The seller claimed about 10K street miles and one autocross on the brakes, so not much wear at all.

I also bled the brakes with new ATE fluid. I put about 150 miles on the car before the track day, an HPDE at VIR North last weekend. Temps in the high 80s.

My car is a 2020 GT, base, no options, 6-speed. I am an advanced driver (former instructor) with 20+ years of HPDE, but I'm getting old and I take it easy. Not that I paid much attention to speed, but I estimate 110 at the end of the straight, braking to about 45 for the turn. I tend to brake late. No ABS, typically. Michelin Pilot Sport.

Overall I was very pleased with the brake performance, good bite, excellent performance, little fading. After my 100 mile drive home, looking at the rotors they don't look too bad, but you can (hopefully) see a little bit of material still left on the rotors. I always take a nice easy cool down lap, and a few times afterwards I moved the car a few feet to let the rotors cool more evenly. I've never used G-LOC before (typically I was a Performance Friction guy) and never experienced this kind of build-up.
20200629_114825.jpg
20200629_114856.jpg

So, my question is, is this normal for the G-LOC, or does anyone have any suggestions? I've had cross-drilled rotors before, but never these cheese-grater slotted things.
Sponsored

Last edited:
OP
OP
BimmerDriver

BimmerDriver

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Michael
Vehicle(s)
Thanks Brian.

Before your next event, you will want to scuff the pads and rotors to remove that smeared build-up.
Any suggestions on what to use to clean up and scuff these items?

Also, anyone have a source to locate the part numbers on the control arm air deflectors?

kz

Threads