MT82-D4 rebuild thread

NGOT8R

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Adrian
Vehicle(s)
2019 Bullitt
Some of you may know that my 2019 Bullitt‘s clutch is on it’s way out after just two drag strip outings and five completed 1/4 mile passes. With that being said, while I‘ll have the tranny out to replace the clutch, I figured I might as well upgrade whatever I can in the transmission to help strengthen it for aggressive shifting and/or drag strip duty. Note: I’ve never built a transmission before, but I am very excited optimistic about taking on the challenge.

My plan is as follows:

- Upgrade the 1/2 -3/4 shift forks to billet parts with bronze shift fork pads. Note: These parts are already on the way.

- Possibly have the 5/6 shift forks completely welded for increased strength, coupled with WPC (micro shot peening process) and add bronze shift fork pads.

- Upgrade the input shaft from a 23 to a 26 spline shaft (if I can find one). I’ve only seen them for 2011-2017 MT82 transmissions, but not the D4. Does anyone know if the 2011-2017 26 spline shaft if the same as the 18+?

- Upgrade the synchros to carbon fiber pieces (unless someone knows of a good enough reason why I shouldn’t stay with factory synchros).

- Look into having the WPC process performed on the factory gears and input/output shafts, as well as REM polishing.

- Install new bearings, seals and retaining clips.

- Add bronze shift rail stop

- Finally, pair the transmission with a really good clutch (considering a Mantic or McLoud RXT).

This is going to be a lengthy process, as it will be expensive and may even require extended wait times to have other services performed (like the WPC process and REM polishing). My hope is that others with upgraded transmissions (especially those with Calimer Stage 2 and 3 transmissions) can weigh in and share their experiences as to how their setups are being used and holding up, as well as what HP/TQ they are making. Thanks in advance!
Sponsored

OP
OP
NGOT8R

NGOT8R