OXWhiteGT

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Cory
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT
Hey everyone!

New member here (Although I've used the site as a lurker for while) and had some track related questions.

I recently bought my 2019 S550 GT PP1 back in Oct 2022 and have done just light mods so far (Eibach Pro Kit, Lund 91/93 & E85 tune, Wheels & tires, Corsa Exhaust, DOT4 fluids, SS Lines). I wanted to keep it pretty basic to start because I was always planning on tracking the car. I didn't want to go full out before learning the car and getting as much seat time first before anything.

Question I ready had is around temps... I'm still a novice track driver (Have done 3 HPDE events this year) so I just wanted to see where you guys typically are with temps and around when you guys back off if seeing like a "Danger Zone" level in temps. For now when I go to the track I throw the stock PP1 wheels and tires back on and I just run the Lund 91/93 tune as well. I know when I was running some of the hot laps I did see ~230 cylinder head temps, but don't remember seeing much else.

Are there temps you'll see and then start to back off like for Cylinder head temps or anything else?

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored

MrBD1348

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'22 GT MT-82
From my understanding - Diff temp and CHT are the 2 main ones to watch. I think 240 for diff is when you should give it a cooling lap. My first event i didn't get close to that temp. I will let you know Saturday night if the exhaust wrap and fluid change kept it below the thermal limit when i push it harder

Ewheels

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Eric
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT PP1, 2020 Explorer, 2023 F150
Vehicle Showcase
My friend's dad is the Quality Manager for Philips 66 and he told me most all oils only contain additives that protect against wear up to 270Ā°F. After 270, the oil is breaking down. To what degree and rate of degradation - no idea but it is happening.