Gains from tires?

Fordohio

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
WIlliam
Vehicle(s)
73 F100 20 Mustang GT
I'm just getting started into autocross racing and running in the Cam class. Each time i've went I have finished mid pack. The next group were running in the 32 second range. I was in the 35s. So I would have to pick up 3 seconds to get to the next driver. This past weekend I actually walked and looked at the cars that were faster. They all had tires that looked to me to be in the 200tw class of tire. I'm running Falken 510's 275/295s which are a 300tw tire. Of course I need to learn to drive better since I'm new to this. But how much of a handicap am I giving myself with these tires?
Sponsored

Ewheels

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Eric
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT PP1, 2020 Explorer, 2023 F150
Vehicle Showcase
Quite a large handicap, actually. Tires are the single greatest performance mod you can get for your car, yet they are usually the most over-looked. If you are still at a point where you want to learn the car and just getting your feet wet, just keep using what you have. Once you have some seat time under your belt, absolutely look into getting better tires. I'm not sure of your class requirements / restrictions but try to run the widest and stickiest tires allowed.

I don't do autocross, only HPDE and now time attack, but when I went from 285 street tires to 305 200tw, it was night and day difference. Major time gains from getting sticky tires.

Norm Peterson

corner barstool sitter
Threads
Reaction score
On a corner barstool not too far from I-95
First Name
Norm
Vehicle(s)
'08 GT #85, '19 WRX
When you do go with wider and stickier tires, try to avoid limiting their potential by running them on wheels that aren't at least "measuring width" for that size. Autocross is very much about transient handling rather than steady-state.

Norm

EFI

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
5.Br0