Sponsored

Switching out interior LEDs - blown fuse - replacement not working

Aurum

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT
So I'm doing the Diode Dynamic/Raxiom LED upgrade mod.

Of course I blew out a fuse and the trunk, vanity mirrors, and glove box lights no longer work.

I replaced the 10a micro2 fuse but none of them are lighting up still. It's my first time replacing a fuse -- its securely inserted. Is there a wait time before power comes back or did I do something worse?
Sponsored

Chef jpd

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
John
Vehicle(s)
2020 GT PP1 6M, Grab ass lime. Ex: 2016 EB PPP CO
Vehicle Showcase
they should come right back on, no waiting.
Did the new fuse blow when you inserted it?
If so, you have a dead short at the point that the fuse blew the first time.

jbailer

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Joe
Vehicle(s)
2015 EB Magnetic Premium PP 50AP
^^^ This. My bet is the glove compartment. Changing that bulb was a PITA and not worth it. Possible something is shorted in there if the new fuse blew.

OP
OP
Aurum

Aurum

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT
If I remove all the lights and pop in a new fuse, will I be able to diagnose that way or will the dead short fry the fuse regardless of whether there's a light inserted?

jbailer

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Joe
Vehicle(s)
2015 EB Magnetic Premium PP 50AP
If I remove all the lights and pop in a new fuse, will I be able to diagnose that way or will the dead short fry the fuse regardless of whether there's a light inserted?
If for example when you pushed the new bulb in, you mashed the 2 contacts together and they are stuck like that, it will keep shorting.

If the bulb is just pushing the 2 contacts together, it's possible they will separate when you remove the bulb.