Ewheels

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Eric
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT PP1, 2020 Explorer, 2023 F150
Vehicle Showcase
I apologize in advance for a disorganized post here, a bit of a thought-vomit.

I'm getting more and more into track life recently and while I'm still learning to drive the stock suspension fast, I am looking into upgrading in the somewhat near future. (I like to have a plan of attack ahead of time.) My initial research into suspension eventually resulted in the tried-and-true setup of Ford Track shocks and BMR handling springs (250 lbs/in front rate). I know plenty of people running this setup successfully and have heard nothing but praise for it.

Diving in a bit deeper, I see the really hardcore track guys running 300, 400, even 600 lbs/in rates in the front. Not saying that I am anywhere close to the skill level that would require such rates, but it has me thinking that maybe the 250 lbs/in rate of the BMR springs is insufficient or that with practice and skill advancement over time, I would out grow the BMR springs.

I find it interesting that your typical off-the-shelf front springs (Eibach, BMR, Steeda, ect) for the S550 are all 250 lbs/in rate or lower. Are these all targeting street cars or your average consumer?

My car is not my daily but it is still a street car and will remain a street car. However, I do not mind sacrificing street comfort for greater track performance. In that case, should I skip the BMR springs and look for maybe a 300-400 rate spring for the front? (I'm only using the front rates for the sake of reference and comparison between brands. I know rear rates are another topic.)

Throwing a hail Mary here, but is there any Socal member here with aftermarket springs who wouldn't mind giving me a ride to get a feel for spring rates?
Sponsored

BmacIL

Enginerd
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Guard GT Base, M/T
Vehicle Showcase