Sponsored

Too wide wheelbase and missing tube?

ssspppeed

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mustang GT Premium
Hi guys I am new to Mustang and about to buy my first Mustang on Carmax. However when I visiually checked the target car's condition, I found two weird things compared to other mustang:

1. The wheelbase of my target is obviously wider than other Mustang GT with PP1. Although I have confirmed with Ford that my target comes with MagRide, but not sure if this is the reason of wider wheelbase. Or this car has previously modified?
1655608925847.png

2. There is missing tube in engine bay which I found in other Mustang GT. Anyone knows what this tube is used for?
1655609031059.png

Thanks!
Sponsored

LOL WUT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
19 GT
Not sure about the tube but yours may have wheel spacers on it.

SEAICE

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
BW
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT Convertible
Vehicle Showcase
You're not talking about "Wheelbase"... Wheelbase is the distance between the front and back axles. What you're referring to is how far out the wheels are sitting relative to the body. This is "offset", and offset can be changed by buying different wheels or adding wheel spacers. Most Mustang owners like wider wheels where the sidewalls come out to the edge of the fender flares. Some go even further... Target car looks better IMO

K4fxd

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dan
Vehicle(s)
2017 gt, 2002 FXDWG, 2008 C6,
Looks like it has wheel spacers, people put these on for looks. Should be able to remove unless it has wider tires than factory.

The tube under the hood is the "sound tube" it funnels intake noise to the cabin. Lots of people don't like it so it gets removed.

Sponsored

LOL WUT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
19 GT
Well, it’s not certain that it has wheel spacers. But given it’s stance it appears that it could have them installed. There are also other ways this stance could of been achieved, i.e., widened or wider wheels.