Sponsored

Michelin Pilot 4S road hazard susceptibility

draph

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT 6MT PP1
I'm curious to see if there's any trend to susceptibility of the PP1 tires to picking up punctures. I've been doing the summer/winter tire thing since 1997. I've been doing the same commute since 2004. From 2004 to 2018, I've picked up nails or other metal objects twice in that 14 years. In 3200 miles on my Mustang since May of this year, I've gotten a puncture in my left rear tire twice. The first one required a new tire ("too close to edge"). Less than 300 miles later, I've got another puncture in the new tire before it even got broken in (this time in one of the center grooves, so repairable). Right now, I'm chalking it up to bad luck/statistical improbability realized....Maybe I should play the lottery this week... Not sure if I should have bought the "tire and wheel insurance" - I always decline that stuff without paying attention to the price, since I know it's always a gamble in the dealer's favor....Maybe not "always" this time around.
Sponsored

68&18_Mustang

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
1968 & 2018 GT's
I had a large screw in the driver side front tire within 2 weeks of picking my 2018 PP1 up (end of June). Was repairable but was wondering the same thing (how susceptible these Michelin 4S tires are).

Timeless

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2024 Grand Highlander Hybrid Max Limited
Soft summer tires + road hazards = no fun

Might be worth getting road hazard warranty from dealership on sale of car or replacement sale of tires.

rickdrews5

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Rick
Vehicle(s)
18 GT Prem / PP