Fluids

MrMike

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
16 Mustang GT, 23 Bronco Wildtrak
Vehicle Showcase
Hey guys,

I'm basically a track noob looking to change all his fluids before going out. I am ok paying for premium fluids if they are actually higher quality.

For brake fluid I landed on Castrol SRF, a bit pricey but guaranteed to last me a season.

My concerns are with Transmission and Rear Axle fluid.

For the Rear Axle fluid (3.31, non-Torsen) I found some info indicating that Motul, Amsoil and Redline are good options.

Any reason I shouldn't assume the Redline 75W85 is of equal quality to the 75W90? I'm currently leaning that way as the factory fill is 75W85.

I see kind of a love/hate thing for the BG Ultra Guard. Anyone spent some miles with that in their trac-lok diff?

For the transmission fluid (Manual, MT-82) I was looking at BG Syncro Shift II, Motul DCTF or Amsoil DCT. All list Ford standard WSS-M2C200-D2.

Motul seemed more available, but wasn't listed as "recommended" on their site so I reached out to them and the conversation was... weird. They recommended 109464, told me they didn't sell it when it's on their shop, and linked me to some weird store called newparts.com. I asked them if 109464 and 105786 were the same, and they told me they were not because 105786 was GL4 rated for off-road use (???).

Does anyone know about the Motul DCTF? The back/forth with their CS kinda made me want to abort mission and just buy more Motorcraft XT-11-QDC.

A lot of Mustang drivers seem to use the BG, but I've read some dissenting opinions about it's use long term. Some on Mustang track forums, some on oil forums, etc. Same as the diff fluid, anyone here beat on their transmission with BG in it?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Sponsored

galaxy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'17 GT350