Sponsored

Do your doors move on rough roads?

Tim_

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Lightning blue S550 Coyote convertible
I can feel and see some movement between the doors and the car body on the roughest of back roads. I’m not expecting a convertible to be the last word in stiffness but having never owned a convertible before I don’t know what’s normal and what should get me worried. I’ll describe what I’m seeing, hopefully it’s nothing but being an engineer I can’t help but notice these things and question them.

I’m talking about movement between the bottom of the quarter glass where the ‘B’ pillar and the seatbelt structure is as being the fixed rigid reference point with no movement and the door itself on the edges furthest away from the door hinges. If I stick my finger in the gap between the door and the car body it’ll squeeze my finger, not so tight it’ll hurt but it is firm and it’ll be at the very most 2-3mm of movement when eyeballing the top edge of the door against the top edge of the ‘B’ pillar at the bottom of the quarter glass.

Sometimes I can hear the door seals rubbing, I may also get distortion in the rear view mirror. Column shake is very occasional. I do not get any movement out the dash or the hinge ends of the doors.

Normal well surfaced roads and even reasonably poor ones I get no movement or noise whatsoever, but deteriorating country lanes or roads with a particular and poor surface type is where I notice the movement.

Question is, is it normal?
Sponsored

Sigma6

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Jay
Vehicle(s)
02’ 360, 06’ GT, 11’ GT500, 15’ 911, 17’ 350
If you’re gonna worry, I’d be more concerned with the type of road I’m traveling on especially with how you’re describing it. You’re racking yourself suspension up especially if you have mageride. Otherwise just enjoy it.

Intrepid175

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Steve
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT Convertible