Sponsored

Best practices/gotchas for install of Steeda suspension upgrades?

mikes2017gt

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
17 GT Prem M/T 3.55
I'm preparing for a major overhaul of my GT non-PP suspension with all-Steeda parts, and I'm looking for best practices or known "gotchas." I've wrenched before; shocks/springs/head gasket/water pump/brakes/etc. but I'm no "semi-pro mechanic."

As I've never worked on a Mustang before I figure the time to ask if there's anything to look out for is now, not when the car is in pieces. Tool-wise, pretty much the only thing I don't own is welding equipment...and if I need that now, I really screwed something up.

I already have the Steeda lo-pro jacking rails installed, so that will make getting the car on jackstands that much easier.

Here's a list of what's going in:

Front/Rear Swaybar Kit 555-1017
Billet Swaybar Mounts 555-8149
Pro-Action Shocks/Struts 555-8150
Billet Rear Shock Mounts 555-8151
Adjustable Bumpstop Kit 555-4445
G-Trac K-Member Brace 555-5532
Camber Plates 555-8139
Sport Springs Progressive 555-8210
Subframe Bushing Supports 555-4437
IRS Subframe Alignment Kit 555-4438
Billet Vertical Links 555-4121
IRS Subframe Support Braces 555-5754
Adjustable Rear Toe Links 555-4120

It's pretty much a complete suspension overhaul...and I was planning on "only lowering the car" but you know how that goes. :headbang:

Is there a particular order I should follow when installing all of this? Some things make sense, like installing the subframe bushing supports when installing the subframe alignment kit; all that has to be apart anyway to get either one installed, so makes sense to do both at the same time. I'm looking for any best-practices or things to look out for. I also bought the Mustang Handling Pack Fastener Kit just in case I strip or lose a bolt/nut. Compared to the cost of the parts (and the car) it's cheap insurance IMO. https://performanceparts.ford.com/part/M-FR3-FASTENA