2018 Digital Cluster Installation Guide

thecloneranger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Threads
54
Messages
317
Reaction score
134
Location
houston texas
Vehicle(s)
2018 royal crimson mustang gt
That doesn't make sense. Who tuned your car and with what device?

My version of forscan is like .1 version old because I just did the cluster swap in January.
Ortiz performance and sct x4 and they said because they scramble it so no one can copy their tune

 

HoosierDaddy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Threads
200
Messages
10,012
Reaction score
19,953
Location
Winchestertonfieldville (ok, Scottsdale), AZ
First Name
Randy
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT Premium PP
Ortiz performance and sct x4 and they said because they scramble it so no one can copy their tune
Are they saying once you use forscan with the stock tune, forscan will continue to work with the tune installed afterwards?
 

HoosierDaddy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Threads
200
Messages
10,012
Reaction score
19,953
Location
Winchestertonfieldville (ok, Scottsdale), AZ
First Name
Randy
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT Premium PP
Umm, that would annoy me if I used forscan a lot...
Glad you were able to figure it out though.
You may have missed the OP seems to have said the only impact on forscan is you have to use it once BEFORE tuning. Then after tuning, forscan still works.
 


thecloneranger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Threads
54
Messages
317
Reaction score
134
Location
houston texas
Vehicle(s)
2018 royal crimson mustang gt
Did the swap today and just realized they sent me the wrong switch . Also I used a pre made file forscan and one module said it was wrong but wrote it anyway . So I need that switch too change modes and my cluster?

20220305_180805.jpg


20220305_175909.jpg
 

Smunczen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2020
Threads
8
Messages
556
Reaction score
517
Location
Atl
First Name
Scott
Vehicle(s)
2020 mustang gt pp2
My kit will be on Monday. I’ll check to make sure I get all the right parts.
 

BlownGP

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2016
Threads
30
Messages
1,000
Reaction score
253
Location
Houston/Baton Rouge
First Name
Steven
Vehicle(s)
Pontiac, Ford, Dodge
Did the swap today and just realized they sent me the wrong switch . Also I used a pre made file forscan and one module said it was wrong but wrote it anyway . So I need that switch too change modes and my cluster?

20220305_180805.jpg
Yup, you defiantly need that switch to control just about everything in the cluster.
 

thecloneranger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Threads
54
Messages
317
Reaction score
134
Location
houston texas
Vehicle(s)
2018 royal crimson mustang gt
also getting a P2068 code.
Check engine light is on this have anything to do with forscan? it must be since this wasnt on with my analog dash
 

thecloneranger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Threads
54
Messages
317
Reaction score
134
Location
houston texas
Vehicle(s)
2018 royal crimson mustang gt
After installing the cluster and writing the baseline changes with Forscan, I noticed that the fuel level is reading weird. I looked a bit more into it, and the car is throwing error code P2068 which deals with reading the fuel level. I can't say for sure this happened exactly after the Forscan programming or even the cluster installation, but there was no engine code prior to the installation and the analog cluster read 100% accurate.

In some of the previous posts, I read it took a couple of fuel tanks for some cars to relearn the fuel reading. Has anyone had this or anything similar happen?
did you find a fix for this same thing is happening to me
 

BlownGP

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2016
Threads
30
Messages
1,000
Reaction score
253
Location
Houston/Baton Rouge
First Name
Steven
Vehicle(s)
Pontiac, Ford, Dodge
Yeah I'm not looking forward to removing the airbag again that was the worse part of the installation
I used a small Allen wrench since it is flat. I don't remember the size but you have to feel for it.
If you feel something springy, you know you are on those metal clips.

I can do it pretty quickly now.
Funny thing is I would get one side in less than a minute, the other side would take 15. hahaah
 

opengl

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Threads
5
Messages
415
Reaction score
427
Location
PA
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT PP1 400A 6MT
I used a small Allen wrench since it is flat. I don't remember the size but you have to feel for it.
If you feel something springy, you know you are on those metal clips.

I can do it pretty quickly now.
Funny thing is I would get one side in less than a minute, the other side would take 15. hahaah
Allen wrench sucks because it's tiny and the springs are pretty strong. You end up killing your fingers. I had much much better luck using a small flathead with a large handle.
 

BlownGP

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2016
Threads
30
Messages
1,000
Reaction score
253
Location
Houston/Baton Rouge
First Name
Steven
Vehicle(s)
Pontiac, Ford, Dodge
Allen wrench sucks because it's tiny and the springs are pretty strong. You end up killing your fingers. I had much much better luck using a small flathead with a large handle.
Well I don't mean the little tiny ones, guess it would be a medium size one.
It was plenty long enough and strong enough to compress those springs.

But a flat would work too just got to make sure you have it turned the right way.
 

 
50 - Livernois - 1
Top