Sponsored

What color should I paint my brake calipers?

Grimmer

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT Manual
I have a 2016 Ruby Red California Special. Over the years, the calipers have started to collect stains (maybe corrosion?). My thought is to sand blast them and then paint them to prevent the gungy look from returning. What would be the best color for the calipers?

I have been thinking about the typical red or yellow that are most common on calipers. But I'm not that excited about yellow and I'm concerned that the red would really clash with the ruby red.

Perhaps black (too subtle?) because it goes well with the Ruby Red. However, the OEM wheels are also black so it may look lop-sided.

I've even been thinking about just a clear coat (if that exists in caliper paint) to prevent the corroded look from returning.

Or maybe just skip the paint and sand blast them every couple of years?

1677691879565.png

I have no talent or experience, but here are some basic attempts to overlay the colors red and yellow.
RedBrakes.JPG

YellowBrakes.JPG
Sponsored

paulm1

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
pau
Vehicle(s)
2021 GT mustang
you could clean them up and clear coat them. there's clear coat caliper paint, VHT makes a clear rattle can i think.

22MAVXLT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'22 Mustang GT
I went different than most and did Grabber Blue. That won't work for your car, but too many people do red in my opinion. With your color car, I'd do silver with clear or even black. But that's my opinion.

Sponsored

WD Pro

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Lime GT
Vehicle Showcase
For that car in the first picture, I would go gloss silver - Like new OE, but on closer inspection, better looking, longer lasting and easier to clean :like:

Paging @EmCel :like:

WD :like:

Jupiter Sean

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Sean
Vehicle(s)
2017 GT/CS Blk
Vehicle Showcase
I have a black 2017 Cali and had at one point painted them red and Brembo logoed them.