Sponsored

Paxton S550 Acceptable Knock range on datalog?

Justin5_oh

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Justin
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT Paxton 2200SL
Hey all! I have a 16 GT with a Paxton blower. Im new to tuning and reading data logs and was wondering what would the normal knock range be for this general set-up? Im seeing about +1.5 at a few points on the log but generally im always at 0 or negative which I know is good and allows for timing to advance. My main concern is the positive. any help and insight would be appreciated!
Sponsored

Furious18

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 mustang gt, 2018 f150 eb 3.5
I’ve heard that small positive knock like that is normal with centri type blowers because their placement and engine movement. If it’s during shifts or after peak load it’s not very worrisome. I’m sure you’d rather not see any though lol

ugstang17

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
none
Process of elimination should begin with the fuel. Add a can of octane boost to a full tank and see if the log responds differently. Some tuners do not take full advantage of the knock technology to add timing so your log may read 0's thoughout if there is no knock being detected. Many tuners take FULL advantage of the knock sensors and in those cases you will even see negative numbers which is allowing the ECU to add timing if base max advance is has not been yet reached. Negative is good as well as zero in either case. Positive means that knock is being seen and timing will be pulled. Another thing to factor in is that HIGH IAT temps will pull timing as well. This will not be seen in the knock data but rather the spark advance PID. It helps to know what the tuner has set max timing to at WOT throttle so you can see how much is being pulled in these cases and/or at least know at what IAT temp they begin pulling timing.