Sponsored

when accelerating car will rev up then drop RPM

kanga80

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT
Recently my car ('16 GT/Manual) started doing this weird thing. I think it is something with the transmission/clutch but I am not a mechanic so I really don't know. When I get on the throttle in the higher gears it will rev up then drop RPM then start accelerating. If I really push the gas it will rev higher before dropping. it happens in all gears it is just more prevalent in the higher gears. It is also unavoidable, even if I roll into the gas it will still do it.

My car is at 31K miles so I hope it isn't the clutch but IDK.
Sponsored

gmupatriot

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT (Orange Fury), 401A, A10, 3.55
sounds like a slipping clutch. I do not have a manual Mustang so my experience in limited to other manual cars I have but in your case, I would look at the clutch first before digging into anything else. Good luck!

Last edited:
OP
OP

kanga80

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT
sounds like a slipping clutch. I do not have an manual Mustang so my experience in limited to other manual cars I have but in your case, I would look at the clutch first before digging into anything else. Good luck!
Unfortunately, this is also what I think as well. This is my first manual, and my parents never had a manual growing up so I am just guessing.

Zeb8806

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Zeb
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang Gt Premium PP
For sure sounds like the clutch. Drive down the road at 45 in 4th gear, apply break pressure and gas at the same time and see if the rpms start to climb as the car slows.

OP
OP

kanga80

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT
For sure sounds like the clutch. Drive down the road at 45 in 4th gear, apply break pressure and gas at the same time and see if the rpms start to climb as the car slows.
What does it mean if the rpms do or don’t rise? Does this rule something out?

Sponsored