Konamoth

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Nick
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mustang GT Base
Fun times ahead:

So, I've had an intermittent issue with the SRS system thinking the driver's knee airbag circuit is faulty. It can be made to go away by jiggling a connector under the dash—as discovered from here, so haven't thought much of it. Mainly because I didn't want to take the car into the dealer and have them have it for a whole week (again...)

Lately though, it has been troubling me. For good reason. I got to thinking about how it feels under the airbag cover—and thought something might just be amiss.

Screenshot_20210927-180140.png

This photo shows the (most) worrisome part, as it seems this wire should be run behind this bracket, not below it... though, I am no bigwig engineer at FoMoCo. This is just about dead center under the steering wheel.

Now now, I do intend to take this into a dealer to have it fixed—when they can get it back to me in a, reasonable amount of time. In the meantime, though—does anyone else have this kind of wacked up wiring under their dash? Is this normal, or did I just get a car wired on a Monday/Friday...
Sponsored

Cobra Jet

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 EB Prem. w/PP and 94 Mustang Cobra
Check 2 areas for SRS issues, threads below for reference.

Knee air bag connections:
https://www.mustang6g.com/forums/threads/2018-gt-airbag-light-on-cluster.107200/page-3#post-3333786

Overhead map light air bag "jewel":
https://www.mustang6g.com/forums/threads/2018-gt-airbag-light-on-cluster.107200/page-2#post-3017970

I don't know if this will help, post below is an older thread where I had posted airbag diagnosis from shop manual:
https://www.mustang6g.com/forums/threads/next-step-in-repairing-my-2018-airbags.120096/#post-2514527

OP
OP
Konamoth

Konamoth

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Nick
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mustang GT Base
Check 2 areas for SRS issues, threads below for reference.

Knee air bag connections: