Sponsored

Water pump shot by 35k miles?

Red15GT

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Race Red GT PP
Hey guys. So I have noticed ticking at startup and whining upon acceleration for a few months. I don’t daily drive the car and it seemed to be fine after getting warmed up. I’m no mechanic but it sounded like a belt issue by ear. Today I decided to bring it up to Ford for an oil change and have them inspect it. My S550 was one of the first orders when the order banks opened in 2014 so it’s way out of warranty. The dealer just called me and said the water pump and various belts and pullies associated with it had to be replaced. I was told it would cost $1,200. This is the first issue I’ve had with this car and while it is 8 years old it only has 35,000 miles on it. How common is this on these cars and is that estimate super high or about normal considering it’s at a dealership? Thanks guys.

Oh, and by the way, to add the cherry on top I was told my Ford Performance by Borla cat-back exhaust was cracked on the x-pipe. How is that even possible? I’ve never driven over anything. I’ve noticed the exhaust sounded like crap recently and it stinks when I open my driver door but I was figuring it just needed to be tightened somewhere. Didn’t expect Borla stainless steel to crack. So I guess I will have to call Borla and try to get it replaced under warranty. What a day!
Sponsored

GregO

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
S550 GTPP
@Red15GT
Yikes, that’s a lot of loot but we’re all at this point where labor rates are horribly expensive. The Euro dealers around my area are at $250.00 an hour.

As far as cracked exhaust, welding 300 series stainless improperly will do that.

MidnightStars

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT