bhvnce

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Chance
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT
Hey all,
So this will be my first time putting together an engine and I want to make sure I get all of this stuff right before I put it in the car and give it a go. After reading a bunch of forums and comments and watching a bunch of youtube videos about the topic, I've found that the clearances the shop manual calls for in regards to main and rod bearings may be a bit too tight for a boosted application like mine. On top of this, I've also seen that piston ring gaps might also need some adjustment because of the extra power output.

So I guess the questions is your recommendations for main bearing clearances, rod bearing clearances, and ring gaps for a boosted Gen 2. Before my pistons decided to fail on me it was running about 10lbs of boost and I was planning on bumping it up just slightly with the stronger internals. As I said before this is my first time putting together an engine and I am sort of learning as I go. So I have to ask exactly what is the method to adjusting your bearing gap or is it a "you get what you get" sort of situation?

Thanks to everyone who stops and reads and special thanks to anyone who drops some more knowledge in the replies! I appreciate you all.
Sponsored

EFI

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
5.Br0
So I have to ask exactly what is the method to adjusting your bearing gap or is it a "you get what you get" sort of situation?
This is usually left to the specific engine builder who is putting your block together based on the the expected usage you provide them.

All builders have different specifications for the intended use of the car and their past experience, along with what type and/or brand parts used. Different part manufacturers call for different clearances.

So have a talk with whoever is building your engine about it, let them set the specs as they are usually the ones who will provide warranty on the work.

OP
OP
bhvnce

bhvnce

Threads