Need Brake Help

eXodium

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Justin
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang Ecoboost non-PP Auto
So I'm new to learning about brakes, and was hoping I could get some help. I have a 2015 ecoboost non-PP. Looking to upgrade from the base break kit. Would like some understanding on if I should just replace the rotors/pads or to replace the calipers as well. I know I only have the weak 2 piston calipers, but if I replace the rotors and pads with nice aftermarket ones will that be good enough? My use case is spirited daily driving. Already have all of the bolt on mods to the car done.
Sponsored

Last edited:

NightmareMoon

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT PP
Vehicle Showcase
So I'm new to learning about breaks, and was hoping I could get some help. I have a 2015 ecoboost non-PP. Looking to upgrade from the base break kit. Would like some understanding on if I should just replace the rotors/pads or to replace the calipers as well. I know I only have the weak 2 piston calipers, but if I replace the rotors and pads with nice aftermarket ones will that be good enough? My use case is spirited daily driving. Already have all of the bolt on mods to the car done.
What did you break? Hopefully you're still under warranty. I try not to break things if I can help it.

NightmareMoon

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Mustang GT PP
Vehicle Showcase
Oh you mean Brakes, not breaks! :p

Have you noticed any brake fade? Normally the stock base brakes are really ok for 95% of street use. It takes sustained periods of high heat generation to overwhelm a brake system. Even the two piston base brakes can provide plenty of clamping force to slow down (i.e. lock up the tires) at speed. They just can't take as many sustained, repeated, high speed stops before being overloaded with heat.

There are really only a couple of situations where your stock ecoboost brakes would be likely to prove inadequate