How hard is it to spray paint for a first timer

dylank9689

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dylan
Vehicle(s)
2021 Mustang
Hey guys, I recently bought the Roush side scoops and can't wait to put them on! They came unpainted so I'll have to paint them to match the color of my car. I've never done any sort of painting job before, so just wondering if its worth the efforts to buy the materials (sand papers, primer, base coat and clear coat), which would probably cost around 70 bucks and get it done myself, or just pay a body shop to do it?

P.S. not super picky about the color matching, but I do think 300-400 is a bit much to get two such small parts painted at a shop.
Sponsored

Ock

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Tom
Vehicle(s)
2018 GT Premium and a 1966 c10
with no experience i would pay shop to do it. however if you want to learn theres tons of vidoes out there on how to do this, but i suggest practice on something similar to learn.

AvalancheSVT

Banned
Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Douglas
Vehicle(s)
2022 Mustang GT PP1 6spd
spraying is easy, getting the environment clean is the hard part.

bonz50

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Tony
Vehicle(s)
15 50th Anniv GT
prep work is 90% of the job. as long as you have a decent spray gun you'll be fine spraying, but that's the easiest part of the work.

Strokerswild

Shallow and Pedantic
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Dave
Vehicle(s)
Things With Wheels
Unless you already have decent paint guns and equipment (and like overspray dust everywhere you can possibly imagine), you're better off having a shop do it. And prep is key.

Sponsored

Firsttexan

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Vehicle(s)
2011 GT500 '19 GT PP1 '13 GT500, 98 GT, 92 LX 5.0
Vehicle Showcase
Spraying is a small part of it. It's 90% prep. Pay a shop for a factory quality job.

BlackandBlue

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang
Call Sherwin-Williams and price paint with a high quality clear.