First post!

1320INC

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Adam
Vehicle(s)
2015 Comp Orange GT
So im new to the 550 platform but not Mustangs. Long story longer i bought a repo 15 Ecoboost. It runs but smokes alot. I trailered it home and pulled the JLT cai off and oil dripped out. I then removed the intake manifold and it had ill bet 3/4 quart of oil or better in it. Looking in at the valves, they have oil baked onto them. Cylinder head has oil sitting in it on the cylinder that the valves are closed. I ordered a UPR catch can set up. Am i going down the right road here? I cannot believe this thing even runs. Anyway, any advice on making this thing right would be greatly appreciated. Been reading alot on here, great site!

Adam
Sponsored

Last edited:
OP
OP

1320INC

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Adam
Vehicle(s)
2015 Comp Orange GT
Helpful reply. Yes i bought it cheap.

Cobra Jet

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 EB Prem. w/PP and 94 Mustang Cobra
1st, welcome to the site and S550 ownership!

You’re going in the right direction, but I have attached the following TSB’s that may provide you better insight to the common issues that were present on the 1st year S550. Some of the TSB’s I have attached also apply to all 2.3 EB’s.

The excessive exhaust smoke was an issue on the early build 2015/16’s and it’s possble the owner of your vehicle never had it addressed (or didn’t know Ford had a TSB on it).

Worn or bad valve seals or turbo seals can also cause excessive exhaust smoke.

Enjoy the S550!

Attachments

OP
OP

1320INC

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Adam
Vehicle(s)
2015 Comp Orange GT
Thank you for the welcome and I appreciate the links. The car has had about 39,000 of the 61,000 miles on it, put on in the last 16 months. I doubt the owner ran premium fuel or was up on anything mechanical. Overall nice premium 6speed car. Just needs some TLC
20181114_163201.jpg

Sponsored

OP
OP

1320INC

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Adam
Vehicle(s)