Sponsored

2015+ Mustang Audio Setup ???'s

Angrey

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350
So here's the deal. I'm fairly intelligent and I have SOME knowledge of A/V systems, but I'm not an audiophile, so looking for help from guys that are really into this stuff and speak "geek" when it comes to audio setups.

I'm not trying to win any awards or shows, I just want a little more punch from my puny 2016 base system (GT350).

here's what I'm looking at:

I purchased (already) an Alpine system boost with sub (the one that goes under the glove compartment). It'll add some bass punch and a little power to the OEM head unit.

I'm reading a bunch of stuff with either Forscan tweaks (which I'm not really wanting to do) OR adding a DSP to get rid of Ford's crappy non-powered controls.

Will the Alpine setup (which is supposed to connect right to factory wiring) work with the Rockford Fosgate DSR-1?

I'm looking at the DSR-1 because it's supposed to maintain all the OEM head unit controls and what not. (I've researched and the correct adapter is the HRN-AR-FO3) and I guess you have to download the vehicle specific update to the unit.

I also planned to go high end with hertz components up front but given the lack of power I might just go cheaper up front (Power Bass OE65C-FD 6.5") and then spend a little more on the rear deck mids (Hertz SX 165 Neo coaxials).

Will the DSR-1 work with the Alpine "add on"? Or am I stuck doing some sort of Forscan tweaks?

Again, I don't really want to push this thing more than just give some clarity and extra power so I can actually listen to the stereo over the exhaust when cruising.

Thanks,
Sponsored

OF5.0

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Scott
Vehicle(s)
2022 Shelby GT500 CFTP
You said base system, so you mean just the 6-speaker system, and not the 9 or 12-speaker systems? I just want to clarify. This means that you have the 4” screen.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Angrey

Angrey

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350