16 to 18 Mustang Sync 3.0 to 3.4?

Discussion in 'Infotainment and Electronics (Nav, Audio, Video, Bluetooth)' started by Dark-Alex, Dec 23, 2019.

  1. Rash

    Rash Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2018 Mustang GT Magnetic/Showstopper Red, 401A, Active Exhaust
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    Posts:
    998
    Likes Received:
    297
    0   0   0
    Anyone who did the upgrade have any problems?
     
  2. BradN01

    BradN01 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2015 Deep Impact Blue GT Premium
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Location:
    Ripley, MS
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    10
    0   0   0
    No issues here, but I’ve only been running it a couple of days. The only issue I’ve seen posted is if you’ve changed the boot up screen with forscan edits to the gt theme. That boot screen isn’t in the 3.4 version so make sure you change it back to the pony or another supported screen before flashing 3.4.
     
  3. lostlocalhost

    lostlocalhost Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    18 EBP PP MR
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Posts:
    128
    Likes Received:
    97
    Garage Profiles:
    1
    0   0   0
    I've noticed that while the directions from google maps in android auto do show on the dash, the time and distance to destination values are 0. I'll be updating to see if that is one of the fixes.
    Also, the bootloader will work if you flash the 19101 first...
     
  4. BradN01

    BradN01 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2015 Deep Impact Blue GT Premium
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Location:
    Ripley, MS
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    10
    0   0   0
    Correct, you can flash back to 19101 and bootload from there.
     
  5. zero_chance

    zero_chance Dismember

    First Name:
    JD
    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT Premium w/ Performance Pack
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    Posts:
    519
    Likes Received:
    132
    0   0   0
    This is awesome, was going to buy a newer APIM but so far this seems to be a viable software only work around. Please post if there are any issues that pop up, especially folks that are running 2017 and older APIm hardware.
     
  6. ChadPowell

    ChadPowell Member

    First Name:
    Chad
    Vehicle(s):
    2018 Mustang Ecoboost
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    11
    0   0   0
    How do you get Android Auto into the dash?
     
  7. lostlocalhost

    lostlocalhost Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    18 EBP PP MR
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Posts:
    128
    Likes Received:
    97
    Garage Profiles:
    1
    0   0   0

    "Updated tonight 3.0 - 3.4 using that guide." = followed the link in the first post in this thread. :)

    I did later update to 19274, but it didn't fix the distance calcs on the screen
     
  8. zero_chance

    zero_chance Dismember

    First Name:
    JD
    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT Premium w/ Performance Pack
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    Posts:
    519
    Likes Received:
    132
    0   0   0
    Anyone else have issues with the maps download? Keeps getting about a GB away from completion then says problem extracting file and stops.
     
  9. BradN01

    BradN01 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2015 Deep Impact Blue GT Premium
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Location:
    Ripley, MS
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    10
    0   0   0
    When I ran into an extraction error I checked the file size and it was way off from the original size of the download link. Redownloaded the files that were wrong and it went thru without an error the next try.
     
  10. Bikeman315

    Bikeman315 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ira
    Vehicle(s):
    2019 Mustang GT/CS
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts:
    4,688
    Likes Received:
    3,447
    Occupation:
    Retired
    0   0   0
    Are you extracting the file before or after you are loading them on the USB stick? For maps you extract before, unlike Sync which you extract after. I just did my wife's Escape (3.0 19205) with no issues. When doing my 19 GT/CS (3.3 19025) ran into a bunch of issues in the car but it eventually took.
     
  11. zero_chance

    zero_chance Dismember

    First Name:
    JD
    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT Premium w/ Performance Pack
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    Posts:
    519
    Likes Received:
    132
    0   0   0
    It was my Mac trying to unzip files automatically initially but then the all in one option would say complete after DLing 4GB. Did the manual process and it worked great.
     
    Bikeman315 likes this.
  12. ghostang

    ghostang Active Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2018 GT, 2017 Ecoboost
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    VA
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    11
    Garage Profiles:
    1
    0   0   0
  13. StangTime

    StangTime Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Todd
    Vehicle(s):
    19' GT PP1, Manual
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Location:
    Ontario
    Posts:
    727
    Likes Received:
    469
    Rating:
    100%
    1   0   0
    Those are my screenshots at night. The daytime screens use a different palette and brightness. That probably explains the difference.
     
  14. ghostang

    ghostang Active Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2018 GT, 2017 Ecoboost
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    VA
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    11
    Garage Profiles:
    1
    0   0   0
    #29 ghostang, Jan 25, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
    Thanks, StangTime! The pictures below show the differences I'm referring to:

    full.jpg full.jpg full.jpg
     
  15. Copperhead73

    Copperhead73 Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Derrick
    Vehicle(s):
    2019 Mustang GT Premium Convertible PP1, A10, Mag, B&O, A/E, S&S
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts:
    254
    Likes Received:
    250
    Occupation:
    HR Analyst
    0   0   0
    When I try to download the reformat tool (first download link), it says there was a problem and it can't be downloaded at this time. Anyone else run into that?
     
Loading...

Share This Page