Sponsored

Have to Replace Hood Decal - Options/Opinions?

jayhoogs

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Jayson
Vehicle(s)
2022 Mach 1 HP
Understood. I get all the properties of the PPF and the reason that most get it. This is my first time with PPF on any vehicle, and I am also listening to the recommendation of the shop at the same time as doing my own research. They are good with trimming around the decal, though say they prefer and have done many with removal and reapplication of any decals. Just their preferred method, I suppose.

I made this post for exactly this point, to see what most have done, what works, what hasn't, and go from there.

I don't plan on doing the roof, but the one-foot-up idea ain't bad!
I would rethink not doing the roof, maybe at least a portion like that first foot. On my previous mustang I got several chips along the leading edge of the roof. In fact, my previous car is what led me to just do a full wrap instead of just front ppf. While the front takes the majority, my previous car taught me that many unexpected places end up with chips and while ppf may not protect against everything, I just wanted to do the best I can to not have my Mach 1 end up the same way. I have FJG so I don’t have direct experience that can help, but personally I would go with trimming around the decal. On a brand new car I wouldn’t want to remove it and pay extra for a new decal, something you’re sort of already paying extra for with the car.
Sponsored

OP
OP
swoop1156

swoop1156

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
22 Mach HP, 22 Raptor 37PP, 22 Cayenne Turbo SE