Where y'all installing rocker switches/panels?

Discussion in 'Infotainment and Electronics (Nav, Audio, Video, Bluetooth)' started by GentlemanJack, Jun 2, 2019.

  1. GentlemanJack

    GentlemanJack Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2019 Mustang GT #savethemanuals, 2012 Audi Q5
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Location:
    Nunya, USA
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    27
    0   0   0
    I want to add a couple of circuits that may require a small rocker switch but I can't for the life of me imagine where you all are adding them to the interior of an s550. Does anyone have pics of rocker switches they have installed and where on the console/dash?
     
  2. brandonc

    brandonc Active Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2016 Magnetic Mustang EcoBoost
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2016
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    0   0   0
    Not a rocker switch, but installed this bass knob and led indicator light yesterday on the “fresh air vent” trim piece to the right of the steering wheel. Space is kind of limited but the trim piece itself is SUPER easy to take off 301B6096-416F-4677-8581-FDBD0D35D149.jpeg
     
  3. LarsenGrind

    LarsenGrind Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Lars
    Vehicle(s):
    2017 Euro-Spec GT
    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Location:
    Denmark, Europe
    Posts:
    354
    Likes Received:
    206
    0   0   0
    I used the same trim piece on mine. I have two like that. One I use to switch between my two sequential turnlights up front, and one I use for my light-up badge out back.
    The place is 'well hidden' behind the steeringwheel and out of sight. Also cheap to replace.
     
  4. mikes2017gt

    mikes2017gt Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT Prem M/T 3.55
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts:
    747
    Likes Received:
    217
    0   0   0
    I am totally stealing this idea for the control knob of my TWK-88. It's the perfect place for it. Way better than the change tray under the rocker switches. Thanks! :D
     
  5. mc68386

    mc68386 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT Fastback
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    44
    0   0   0
    I sometimes drive in an area where dash cams must be powered off. My cam doesn't have a switch, so i got a rocker switch from amazon and mounted it inside the glove box on the far left side. It's totally invisible but readily accessible. It was pretty easy to hide the wires under the carpet behind the glove box, and route them under the trim up to the camera by the rear view mirror.
     
  6. ugstang17

    ugstang17 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT White Plat Tricoat
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Location:
    midwest
    Posts:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    601
    Rating:
    100%
    1   0   0
    Sorry to side bar - just curious first why there is "an area" that doesn't allow a dash camera to be on, and second how would anyone know if the unit doesn't have the LCD display glowing in the dark? The only reason I could think of is if it is a high collar rich area afraid of criminals using dash cams for recon to plan robberies.
     
  7. mikes2017gt

    mikes2017gt Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    17 GT Prem M/T 3.55
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts:
    747
    Likes Received:
    217
    0   0   0
    Military base comes to mind. Dash cams fall under the heading "photography" which is typically disallowed on most military installations without express permission.
     
  8. mc68386

    mc68386 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT Fastback
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    44
    0   0   0
    Correct - also nuclear power plants and Hollywood back-lots.
     
  9. Canoman

    Canoman Lurker (mostly)

    First Name:
    John
    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT PP 400A
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Location:
    Wylie, TX
    Posts:
    78
    Likes Received:
    15
    Garage Profiles:
    1
    Occupation:
    ChemE
    0   0   0
    Can anybody supply the part number for this panel? I want to put my bass knob here but would like to buy a replacement in case I want to go back to totally stock.

    From this page, it looks like it’s <046A76. I can’t find it online anywhere, though.

    https://parts.ford.com/shop/en/us/body/instrument-panels/panel-instrument-6497669-1
     
  10. StangTime

    StangTime Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Todd
    Vehicle(s):
    19' GT PP1, Manual
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Location:
    Ontario
    Posts:
    839
    Likes Received:
    509
    Rating:
    100%
    1   0   0
    Looks like part #19
    fee07efed2d7ceea53b6a827f4a34fc2.png
    That's part# HR3Z-63046A76-AA / Instrument Panel Trim Panel
    You get it from Tasca parts.
     
    Canoman likes this.
  11. Chef jpd

    Chef jpd Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    John
    Vehicle(s):
    2016 EB P PP CO
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    Garage Profiles:
    1
    Rating:
    100%
    3   0   0
    It's not just a blank panel, there are some mechanical bits on the back, looks like a tiny fan and a sensor.

    Mine is in the same spot but above the "stuff" on the back:

    35380235730_439fbc94da_z.jpg20170411_164725 by chefjpd, on Flickr
     
    Canoman likes this.
  12. Canoman

    Canoman Lurker (mostly)

    First Name:
    John
    Vehicle(s):
    2017 GT PP 400A
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Location:
    Wylie, TX
    Posts:
    78
    Likes Received:
    15
    Garage Profiles:
    1
    Occupation:
    ChemE
    0   0   0
    Thanks for this pic, as well. I took it off yesterday and noticed what's behind it. I considered putting it above the "louvers" as well. I took the circuit board out of its metal housing to cut down on the space required. Mine is an Alpine RUX-Knob. Not sure where the best option is, but the innards of my bass knob are long enough that I have to worry about the angle of the mount so the back end of the knob where the RJ11 plugs in doesn't interfere with the back side of the sensor that's in that panel.
     
Loading...

Share This Page