Sponsored

Updated MTM PF22.2 Foam Cannon

DFB5.0

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang GT Fastback
The newly updated MTM PF22.2 Foam Cannon has just gone on sale in the USA, Australia hopefully following closely behind. This represents MTM finally listening to the calls for a wide mouth bottle.

PF22.2 Foam Cannon with WIDE MOUTH Bottle - MTM Hydro (mtmhydroparts.com)

PF22.2 Replacement Bottle - 3 Pack - MTM Hydro (mtmhydroparts.com)

Now, I have been running these foam cannons for three years now. The key benefit of these foam cannons over others is the more efficient consumption of the soap solution. This is something I have verified side by side with an older Waxit branded foam cannon, which goes through the contents of the bottle considerably faster. And yet, even with the added efficiency, you still get exceptional foam from the MTM.

IMG-1805.jpg

IMG-3019.jpg

IMG-3081.jpg

IMG-3083.jpg

IMG_3088.jpg

But like any product, there was room for improvement. The earliest versions of the PF22 had a sexy looking bottle……………that would tip over if not completely full of liquid. MTM partially addressed this with the 22.2 update, the bottle reshaped to be wider at the bottom to prevent it tipping over. And yet…………………..it still tipped over when empty. This stems from the heft and bulk of the FP22 cannon body, which is much chunkier than key rivals.

IMG-3018.jpg

IMG-3068.jpg

IMG-3401.jpg

IMG-5630.jpg

Another irk was the lack of a wide mouth bottle to make filling easier. I will say, I have never had a wide mouth bottle foam cannon, so I have always managed with the FP22.2’s narrow opening. The key to success is to fill the bottle with water first, then add the soap at the end. There were also complains of the plastic bottle not threading nicely with the brass foam cannon body, although I have never really had much problem.

IMG-8202.jpg

IMG-2812.jpg

IMG-8206.jpg