Sponsored

Oil cooler questions

Gloucesternige

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'17 Mustang GT, GR Yaris, SWB Defender, Harley.
Hi everyone,

I am a little concerned about my oil cooler letting go, probably needlessly, and would like to change to an air to oil cooler anyway.

having looked at the LHD cooler, perched on the front left side of the block i'm a little confused why we cant just fit the LHD cooler to our cars? What is in the way? Am I missing something?

I am considering the take off plate with pipework going to a remote filter/ thermostat and cooler which seems to be popular in the states, and it looks like i would just need to turn up a spacer for the engine mount to replace the boss cast into the RHD cooler take off casting.

I am an Engineer with full machining facilities so nothing is too difficult for me, but it seems like i may be missing something as i wonder why people are paying a fortune for oil cooler kits and fitting "stuff" to disable the coolant/oil cooler? Surely it's best to just take the whole casting off?
Sponsored

hinch

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Sideways
Hi everyone,

I am a little concerned about my oil cooler letting go, probably needlessly, and would like to change to an air to oil cooler anyway.

having looked at the LHD cooler, perched on the front left side of the block i'm a little confused why we cant just fit the LHD cooler to our cars? What is in the way? Am I missing something?

I am considering the take off plate with pipework going to a remote filter/ thermostat and cooler which seems to be popular in the states, and it looks like i would just need to turn up a spacer for the engine mount to replace the boss cast into the RHD cooler take off casting.