Sponsored

How Much Weight in the Trunk for Snow Driving?

Mustang Convert

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350
How much weight should I put in the trunk for driving in snow and slush? This is my first year with a RWD. Also, what do you guys use for the weight? Sand bags, kitty litter, etc. that won't take up a ton of space? If it matters, I have Continental Extreme Contact DWS all season tires on my EcoBoost Mustang.
Sponsored

OP
OP
Mustang Convert

Mustang Convert

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350
I didn't ask about which tires to put on it, but thanks.

I don't get this forum's hate of all season tires, but that's not the conversation I'm trying to have here. This comes up every time I make reference to the tires on my car.

Stewdog

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
5.0 Auto Premium 20" 3.15
If you have a weight set, put a couple of 45's in the trunk.

mc lane

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'16 GT PP AT, '05 Chrysler 300 C, '18 Navara Twin Turbo
Vehicle Showcase
well
there are 2 Topics relevant

1. pure traction for going uphill
indeed a rwd care has a disadvantage in direct relation to weight Distribution
the more it is front biased, the less traction you have and the earlier you get stuck

2. stability and staying on the road
the more the weight Distribution is front biased, the less the cars tendency to leave a straight line, the more the weight Distribution is rear biased, the higher the cars tendency to oversteer

as the People at Ford have probably done whatever they could to build a car which handles well as Long as you set the drivemodesetting to snow, why ruin their work by altering the weightdistribution?

best Thing is to get the best tires on the market, because These tires are the only 4 patches (each about the size of your Palm) where your car has contact to the roadsurface