2019fordmustang

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Omar
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT, BMW 545i, Mercedes E550, Mercedes E320, Kia Sorento V6
2019 Mustang GT bought May 2019.
I need your guidance on topic of changing my own oil.

My car has 2500 miles but my oil life indicator says 30%life left. This is my first new car ever and I don't want to give Ford a chance if it ever occurs that I didn't use Ford recommended brand and viscosity.

1. Are these cars programmed to have oil life for only 3k oil changes?
2. It does not say in the manual that if I change my own oil I can void warranty but how do I prove to the dealer in future if there is an issue that I changed the oil on time and using Ford recommended specs.
3. I prefer to use Mobil 1 synthetic vs. Synthetic blend that for recommence.I've never used motorcraft oil before. I'm worried if something happens later on and Ford can say I didn't use recommended motorcraft oil and viscosity of 5w 20.
4. I've never used 5w 20 in any of my cars before but I'm assuming because of the way coyote engine is designed the lower viscosity oil can pass through various metal Parts easily.
Sponsored

lacanteen

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
George
Vehicle(s)
2022 EB premium vert, 2013 Escape, 2017 F150 SC5.0
As long as you keep your receipts and do the work properly you will be fine. Enjoy your ride.

2018OFPP1?2

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Walt
Vehicle(s)
'92 LX 5.0 Vert, 2018 GT PP2
As long as you keep your receipts and do the work properly you will be fine. Enjoy your ride.
I'm not a lawyer, and this isn't legal advice, but I make a note on the receipt; "Oil and filter change; date; miles", and keep the receipt in the maintenance log. I expect this will satisfy any warranty requirements.

As long as the oil you use meets the specifications per the owners manual you should be fine. Mobile 1 5w-20 and 5w-30 met the specifications last time I looked, but you should confirm for yourself.

ALLSTOCK

Threads
Reaction score