Sponsored

DFB - how'd I do

Cobra Jet

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 EB Prem. w/PP and 94 Mustang Cobra
@DFB5.0

Ok, this isn't S550, but as far as body cleanup/detail/compound/wax/polish tech, I'd like your opinion...

I could not get very good before pics of what I was trying to get as the subject image - but the context of the subject matter is black paint that was full of surface scratches and a lot of spider webbing...

- Machine:
Porter Cable 7424

- Pads (Lake Country foam):
Various 6" cutting/polishing pads. Started with firmest cutting pad and worked down to finest for polishing. Followed up by lambs wool final cleanup pad (I always use this after hand wiping with microfiber).

- Cutting product:
Griots Garage Fast Correction Cream (for removal of severe paint defects) BOSS Best of Show System.

Final Polish:
Zaino Pro (Z2) Show Car Polish

NOTE:
I'm not a pro-detailer like yourself, but have always used similar processes on my Mustangs... This is the first time I've had a Mustang with as bad of neglect to the body/paint. This is what I have done so far; probably could be a lot better by a Pro-Detailer's standards and I'm sure there's gonna be nitpicking of the images (LOL!!!), but in general terms does it look better then what I started with? 🤔 :)

I did the entire car - but the top surface images seen here is best I could get to really show the overall neglect of the paint... All of the black panels were just as bad overall like the top surfaces seen in these images.

I spent 1.5 days on the entire body... with most of that time and focus being on primary color black, as that showed the most visible defects.

Even though not an S550, it goes to show that same effort could be used on dark color S550's for restoring paint or paint correction.

E41D0FA3-E4B3-47E2-A06D-72719254295C.jpeg
645EF29F-B178-456F-A276-64FCABED2DBD.jpeg
7F40A719-F18A-44C1-83CD-507F183F88B6.jpeg
315BFEAC-B9E4-4DA2-9C57-52FBBD0CBCA4.jpeg