Consistent limp mode

Cue_5oh

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Niko
Vehicle(s)
2021 Mustang GT
Hey all, I am new to the Mustang platform and to the V8 American side in general. While I have had my Mustang at this point for a tiny bit over a year it is quite different from my old boosted Infiniti's and Nissans. I am curious if this something other experience,

In low traction situations (I had 275 street tires not my VMS 17" M/T S/S 305s on as in the video) if I hit the rev limiter hard enough my car will throw a wrench and put me straight into limp mode and then sometimes not always a check engine light will appear for (per Ford Pass App) reached its Adaptive learning limits with the fuel control system and its adaptive fuel control system limits for an overly lean condition. I did a code check and it is always P0171 - System Too Lean Bank 1.

Now I know asking someone online to diagnose my car is an insane task, but I would appreciate some input. Do we think this is from a poor tune? Is bouncing off the rev limiter normal for this to happen for these cars? or is there some known issue with the fuel system that may cause this under WOT that I do not know about? My car is tuned through National Speed out of Richmond, I have JLT intake, Texas Speed Catless Headers, H-Pipe, Reische Thermostat and Oil-Air Separator.

Check the video out, my launch was okay it was a cold Florida night and my tires were way too cold (only launched around 1.5k rpm) and the track at BMP was not the best (AWD Audis were spinning hard). Just curious to what yall think. Thanks for anyone's insight. Used to my old VR30 bouncing off the rev limiter and nothing of this sort ever happening.

Sponsored

andrewtac

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
mark
Vehicle(s)
F250. 2020 GT 400A
Bouncing off the limiter isn't advised. Maybe better tires so your not spinning.

OP
OP
Cue_5oh

Cue_5oh

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Niko
Vehicle(s)
2021 Mustang GT