thermostat

ifly680g

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Mark
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT PP
Ok master tech please explain how swapping a tstat makes more power... you're making the claim as if you're the expert here right? I see plenty of folks saying "it just does" but no one has put any science to it. Here's some research I've found...

http://www.tuneruniversity.com/blog/2012/04/low-temp-thermostats-whats-the-advantage/

http://www.superstreetonline.com/how-to/engine/impp-1001-colder-thermostat-increase-power/

Has anyone here dyno'd their car after swapping their tstat and not messing with fan cycle?
I'm no expert but if you ever watch Nascar during qualifying they hook up a system that pumps cold water through the engine to get it as cool as possible before a second qualifying attempt, as the hot engine wont make as much power resulting in a slower time around the track.
Also cold air is more dense than hot air resulting in higher power, works in jet engines also.
Sponsored

Evolvd

Instigator
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Brian
Vehicle(s)
2021 Shelby GT500
I'm no expert but if you ever watch Nascar during qualifying they hook up a system that pumps cold water through the engine to get it as cool as possible before a second qualifying attempt, as the hot engine wont make as much power resulting in a slower time around the track.
Also cold air is more dense than hot air resulting in higher power, works in jet engines also.
Actually these articles say otherwise. A colder engine is just as destrimental to the life of the metal as a hotter temp. The mass of air moving into an engine is not in the intake long enough to heat soak so ambient temp is way more important for air/fuel mixture than coolant temp. Your analogy is not correct. Btw, I fly airplanes for a living and spent 10 years working on jet engines. Power is determine by ambient air temp and pressure, not the heat of the engine.

Evolvd

Instigator
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Brian
Vehicle(s)