damships

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Gabe
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mustang GT A10 PP1 (Rapid Red)
Hey everyone!

So I bought a new 2018 Mustang GT last month. Everything has been great, but I just recently hit 1,500 miles and now I believe I'm starting to hear some mild form of engine knocking. Granted, this is my first time with a Mustang or V8 engine for that matter, so I'm sure they make some forms of noises I'm not used to. BUT this noise tends to happen at around 1500 RPM's. It doesn't happen all the time. I used to have a 2012 Hyundai Accent that made similar noises (they were a bit louder though) and they had eventually triggered the knock sensor on that vehicle. I'm not getting any knock sensors tripping on the GT. Please note, this is NOT the infamous ticking noise people post on here. This only happens when I'm accelerating. Sounds like a mild rattle or ticking/clicking when accelerating, typically at those RPM's.

The reason I'm confused is because the manual states occasional knock is normal? How should I go about this? I was planning maybe trying Premium fuel and seeing if that helps? Maybe notifying the dealership in a few weeks when I do an oil change? I'm kind of discouraged about this, but then again it could be normal. I'll try and record something later today. Thank you!
Sponsored

88lx50

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT convertible 6 speed
You sure it's not the tick? Sounds like it might be.

Andy13186

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT 10speed Aluminator Whippled
2k rpm rattle is normal mine starts around 2k ends around 2500

ihc95

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 GTPP A10 401A
I know the manual says it's okay to run 87, but multiple people have reported knocking and pinging on the Gen 3 Coyote when running 87. Definitely try 91-93 and see if the noise goes away.

OP
OP
damships

damships

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Gabe
Vehicle(s)
You sure it's not the tick? Sounds like it might be.