Sponsored

Spare Tire option

Cobra Jet

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 EB Prem. w/PP and 94 Mustang Cobra
Ok - seems like most new cars today don't get a spare tire anymore as a "freebie"... lol! IMO, the compressor feature is nice, but it's def not gonna help with a true blow out that cannot be salvaged.

So, who has opted to get the spare tire equipped with their S550 and exactly what comes with that option (jack too?)?

Or who has replaced the compressor with a spare purchased offline from another source?
Sponsored

Hack

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang, Camaro
I've had several tire punctures in the last few years with newer Fords and without exception the TPMS warned me of low pressure with plenty of time to make it to a shop or to refill the tire with air temporarily until I could fix it.

I've been driving for well over 30 years and never had this "true blow out" that you speak of. Every flat I've ever had always was a slow leak. Some were not repairable, but they still didn't leave me stranded.

I realize it's a change in your way of thinking, but I would recommend to anyone to go without a spare. If you have a "true blow out", use your cell phone to call a tow truck. Much safer than changing a tire at the side of the road, especially if the rear blows and you have to swap tires twice.

Sal33n

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Joe
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger, 2018 Alfa Stelvio
I've been driving for well over 30 years and never had this "true blow out" that you speak of. Every flat I've ever had always was a slow leak. Some were not repairable, but they still didn't leave me stranded.
Unless you are on tv, then every flat is a blow out :D

cyberbro

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT On Order
I ordered it, I just like knowing I have it and it's pretty cheap. Also a little extra weight buts but its a trial amount, at least its weight over the rear axle

duhameister

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT- 50 Year