Sponsored

Pictures of my Base audio upgrade

mustank

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 mustang gt
I have never done car audio anything before. This was a fun experience.

Parts:
Scosche dash kit
Kenwood DDX9903S head unit
JL Audio HD 700/5 v2 amp
JL Audio C5-650 woofers/tweeters/crossovers
JL Audio PowerWedgeCS112LG-TW3 12" subwoofer

This is my second Scosche unit. The climate control display would not always turn on. This one has been solid.
35722852602_699038c711_z_d.jpg

I made a shelf for the amp on the underside of the rear deck. I used carbon fiber tubes with aluminum rods inside, and a carbon fiber plate on top of plexiglass. There are rubber washer between the amp/plate, bars/plate, and bars/rear deck.
35052566154_3ebf8d5318_z_d.jpg

35052571044_5dc76ea69b_z_d.jpg

35504303370_98bd59450e_z_d.jpg

You can see the C5-650 rear woofers in the one amp pic.
Here are the crossovers I added because I needed to use High Pass from the amp and then the "low pass" side of the crossover to the rear woofers.
35052569974_0f6983207c_z_d.jpg

I put the subwoofer in the spare tire compartment. I also put dynamat down. I cut the stock trunk carpet for the sub and made (poorly) a carbon fiber ring with arches to keep stuff from sliding on top of the sub.
35760803861_5ee832d073_z_d.jpg

35504920460_f328e36fe4_z_d.jpg

The tweeters don't sit super flush.
35052575544_93e3525940_z_d.jpg

I mounted the front crossovers in the footwells.
35722855302_a997815618_z_d.jpg

35052592844_a0e17e632e_z_d.jpg

I also ran the door speaker wires straight through the plastics.
35892145895_6fbf094212_z_d.jpg

35052580724_eb1777da94_z_d.jpg

I drilled through the firewall for the amp power cable. I used a self sealing metal grommet. I know there is a rubber plug that can be used, but I just wanted to route straight into the car.
35892141975_83e270839f_z_d.jpg

The biggest annoyance for me is the door speakers don't line up with the original door plastic grill mesh.