Sponsored

Importing a GT350R to the UK?

Usman

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mazda RX8 R3
Hello All,

After having visited these forums for the past few years, I finally took the plunge to register and start posting myself.

As a UK resident, I was glad to hear that the Mustang GT was finally being sold through the dealerships here! However, with a 18 month waiting list (according to my local dealership) and a £10-15K mark up in the second hand market, I thought it might make more sense to import a GT350R instead (which by the way is still a US-only model).

Not sure if a similar thread has been posted before but I was wondering whether someone would be kind enough to explain (i) the possibility to import a car without having to go through the usual importers and (ii) whether it would be as simple as placing an order with a US based dealership and arrange transportation myself.
Sponsored

DrumReaper

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
1971 429CJ Mach 1, 2012 Boss 302
Actually, your biggest uphill battle would be finding an R to export to start with. Good luck in your journey though and hopefully it won't go tits up.

Twin Turbo

Super Moderator
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Paul
Vehicle(s)
Mustang '05 GT
Welcome to M6G

Your biggest problem will be to find a US dealer that:

A - Has a GT350R allocation
B - Isn't going to charge a huge ADM
C - Will actually sell to a non-US resident

Ford do not like their dealers selling to customers outside the US but some have ways around this. Sometimes they will sell to another local dealer and you buy the car second hand from them.

I know of someone in a similar position to yourself, who has self imported several Mustangs, including a Boss 302, and he just couldn't find anyone who would deal with him....at least not without charging a stupid mark up.