Sponsored

Has anyone attempted paint correction themselves?

Cobra Jet

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 EB Prem. w/PP and 94 Mustang Cobra
Paint correction as in removing or smoothing out the factory clear orange peel and/or light surface scratches using 3000 grit polish paper (wet sanding) and then compounding, polishing etc?
Sponsored

robwlf

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
rob
Vehicle(s)
17 lightning blue pp LFP 670
yes sir i do it alot as im a painter.. its hard with newer cars the clear is so thin. flat surfaces are easy its all the edges that can cause problems , 3000 wont get rid of peel.. thats a final step before buffing.. i use 2000, then 3000 3m foam backed sand paper on a da... so cases i use 1500,then 2000,then 3000.
and i only use 3m cutting compound, step1.. then go step 2 then 3 .and i use a big boy buffer dewalt 10inch with 3m foam pads ,white for compound, black for step 2 and baby blue pad for step 3 ..i have never had bad results with 3m in the 14 yrs i been using it

OP
OP
Cobra Jet

Cobra Jet

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 EB Prem. w/PP and 94 Mustang Cobra
yes sir i do it alot as im a painter.. its hard with newer cars the clear is so thin. flat surfaces are easy its all the edges that can cause problems , 3000 wont get rid of peel.. thats a final step before buffing.. i use 2000, then 3000 3m foam backed sand paper on a da... so cases i use 1500,then 2000,then 3000.
and i only use 3m cutting compound, step1.. then go step 2 then 3 .and i use a big boy buffer dewalt 10inch with 3m foam pads ,white for compound, black for step 2 and baby blue pad for step 3 ..i have never had bad results with 3m in the 14 yrs i been using it
Thanks for the detailed reply!

Yes, I had purchased a pack of the 3M foam backed 3000 grit “sheets” (prob like 6”x3”). I wasn’t too sure about going any lower in grit (1500 or 2000) as my concern was that those grits may be too aggressive, no?