Sponsored

First autocross

JimInTexas

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT, Orange Fury, PP1, 10AT, Magneride, Active Exhaust, Safe/Smart, 401A, GT350 Black Spoiler
Would love to get y'alls thoughts and feedback. Just did my first autocross, and first performance driving of any kind, for that matter. In novice class with about 20 other drivers. 5 runs. First two went DNF from missed cones, so pretty much a write-off, but was really pleased with how much I improved over the next 3 runs. Best time was a 56.05, so not sure how respectable that is for a total newbie. Finished 16 out of 20 in the novice class for the day though, so nothing to crow about. Some thoughts I had were I maybe should've used the paddles and just stayed in 2nd the whole time rather than let the 10R80 handle everything in Sport+ mode. The auto seemed to lag a bit getting back on the throttle out of a corner. The other thing I need to work on is braking a little sooner before a corner rather than in it as much. Even given the sucky overall scoring, it was a total blast, I seemed to push the car pretty hard by the end of the day, met a lot of cool and helpful folks, and thought SCCA put on a great event. I'll definitely be doing more of this.

Thoughts?
Sponsored

Cardude99

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Sam
Vehicle(s)
2018 Ecoboost