Sponsored

Changing Spec after ordering - any chance?

AndyT

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Vehicle(s)
Mondeo 2.0 TDCI Titanium X
Hi,

I am newbie here and would appreciate any advice. I placed my order just under 2 weeks ago and would like to have made a minor tweak to the spec of the car, but I am being told by the dealer that this is not possible as the order is accepted. Is this just what it's like dealing with Ford or is it worth pushing for. It seems very inflexible given that my car probably won't be built for 5 or 6 months. I know it's my bad for wanting to change the spec slightly but I didn't think they would be locked in so early on on the exact spec with no changes allowed.

many thanks

Andy
Sponsored

SteveS

...Bon Scott Land...
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Steve
Vehicle(s)
Mustang GT Magnetic
Welcome. Tell them you're cancelling and you want your deposit back. They can only legitimately keep any of it to cover their costs, of which their shouldn't have been any.

Centurion07

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 GT
Welcome. Tell them you're cancelling and you want your deposit back. They can only legitimately keep any of it to cover their costs, of which their shouldn't have been any.
Not so sure about this. I used to think that was the case until I advised a guy on here that had lost his deposit because he pulled out of buying an RS6. He subsequently saw a solicitor who advised him he'd got lucky he only lost the deposit as the dealer could've forced him to go ahead with the purchase!

In answer to the OP, who knows. Back when I ordered mine (Jan '15), lockdown dates/build dates/delivery etc were somewhat of an unknown so changing spec was possible fairly late in the day. No idea how it works now but would imagine those timescales to be a hell of a lot shorter.

Also yes, this is what it's like dealing with Ford. :D

SteveS

...Bon Scott Land...
Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Steve
Vehicle(s)
Mustang GT Magnetic