Auto Shift Issues

mustangfanatic

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Steve
Vehicle(s)
2019 Shelby GT350
My wife has a '15 Mustang equipped with the 3.7L V6 and Auto trans. The car is great and drives well but I have noticed one issue that I wanted to inquire about here. I have a lot of experience driving manual transmission Mustangs but this is my first adventure with an automatic.

When in D mode, the auto trans hesitates in selecting a gear, particularly when decelerating and then suddenly accelerating, the car "hunts" for which gear to select for a second or two. It is also hangs and refuses to shift when accelerating hard and then "backing out" of the accelerator (not fully releasing just reducing full acceleration). Has anyone else experienced this issue?
Sponsored

mjhousto

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 GT Premium DIB, 50 Years AP
What you are describing is typical automatic transmission behavior.

XDMan

El Pony
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Mustang GT Premium With 50th Anniversary Pack
This doesn't happen in my GT, perhaps some V6 guys can weigh-in.

OP
OP

mustangfanatic

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Steve
Vehicle(s)
2019 Shelby GT350
What you are describing is typical automatic transmission behavior.
Not to be difficult but I have other auto trans vehicles including an F250 and a Nissan Xterra and I have never experienced this issue with any of those vehicles.

Ugly John

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
John
Vehicle(s)
Ruby Red GT PP
Mine does this as well, and I think it is just the transmission trying to figure out what the hell you want it to do!;)

When in sport, mine seems like it knows I want to go fast, and I want to have power on command, so it acts like that and stays in a lower gear. The drive is trying to be more fuel efficient, but also wants to give you power when you want it, but with sudden accelerator changes, it gets confused.

Try driving in sport - it should be a lot more to your liking.