6spd manual durability

Stangsta

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Anthony
Vehicle(s)
Soon to be 21’ Mustang GT
I’m new to the Mustang world. Looking to purchase a 21’ Mustang GT Performance Pack Premium. Nobody in my area even has a 21’GT and said they can’t even order one.
Anyway my question is it seems the 6spd manual is not very durable from what I’m reading. Lots of complaints about locking out gears. Have they upgraded anything with the 21’ or the upcoming 22’ manual models or is it still the same as previous years?
I really like the videos of the 10spd autos. The shifts really seems to keep the car in the powerband
Sponsored

Marco_C

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Marco
Vehicle(s)
2018 Mustang GT
I have a 2018 PP1 6 speed and it is all stock and haven't had any problems at all. This is my first V8 stick shift and have given my clutch and tranny a beating and its still kicking. I have heard of many shift forks breaking and being the main issue from what I have heard. Maybe I was lucky and got a good transmission. (At 33k miles).

EmCel

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Em
Vehicle(s)
2016 mustang gt
Mine is older 16 gt. I bought the car last Nov close to 30k miles and right now I have 60k miles. Still shifts fine, I had problems with it popping out of gear once or twice months ago but it's fine now. Hoping it's good for another 20-30k miles :giggle: will check back once it takes a shit :)

EFI

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
5.Br0
Anyway my question is it seems the 6spd manual is not very durable from what I’m reading. Lots of complaints about locking out gears. Have they upgraded anything with the 21’ or the upcoming 22’ manual models or is it still the same as previous years?
You're confusing durability with notchiness and refinement. The trans itself is solid and has been shown to take alot of power. The complaints you're hearing are about lack of refinement.

Sponsored

Hack

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mustang, Camaro