Sponsored

2017 R Poser

Dr. JL

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Threads
10
Messages
236
Reaction score
159
Location
Texas
First Name
John
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350R: GR227 and GR378
FYI, there's a 2017 R "clone" currently posted for sale on ebay. It's not officially advertised as an R model in the main title, but IS in the Item Description and looks to have all the bits of an R (except the dash plate and VIN) for $65,000. The fine print states it's "converted to R type". It's supercharged, so a not-so-completely-informed buyer may rush into it without knowing all the facts. I'm not saying this is not a good deal, just that it's not an R.


https://www.ebay.com/i/232719529825

Just found another...https://ebay.com/i/323187106060

R buyers beware!
Sponsored

 
Last edited:

BoostinFD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2018
Threads
10
Messages
193
Reaction score
66
Location
Clayton
Vehicle(s)
2018 Raptor
Link to the said auction?
 

nastang87xx

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Threads
94
Messages
6,550
Reaction score
4,170
Location
San Diego, CA
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350 Track Pack
Yeah the chassis badge isn't correct, right? The wheels look scary legit...if not the real thing but damn talk about a money pit.
 
OP
OP
Dr. JL

Dr. JL

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Threads
10
Messages
236
Reaction score
159
Location
Texas
First Name
John
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350R: GR227 and GR378
I guess this is what folks do when they want an R, but can't find one...make one! Then they get bored and move on to the next "project". I can only imagine the additional money they put into these vehicles would have originally bought them a legit R. I think the first ad has real Carbon Revolution CF wheels.
 

Sponsored

Zitrosounds

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Threads
67
Messages
3,407
Reaction score
2,163
Location
Madison, AL
First Name
Harold
Vehicle(s)
16 GT350R/16 GT350TP/15 GT-PP/12 GT-PP
:lol:
 

Zitrosounds

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Threads
67
Messages
3,407
Reaction score
2,163
Location
Madison, AL
First Name
Harold
Vehicle(s)
16 GT350R/16 GT350TP/15 GT-PP/12 GT-PP
Damn! Seats and all. The wheels are legit. Moneypit! Someone will score. Seller loses. Bad!
 

1mic

Banned
2 mph so everybody sees u
Banned
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Threads
25
Messages
1,294
Reaction score
520
Location
Mountain View, CA
Vehicle(s)
God bless America, all 8.4 liters -Randy Pobst
Spent all that money to make it look like an R and put Toyo Proxes vs Cup 2's on it???
The budget ended with the aesthetics and not one of the most crucial parts (tires!).
 

Destro

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Threads
1
Messages
55
Reaction score
22
Location
Florida
Vehicle(s)
2017 Shelby GT350
"It sounded like a good idea at the time."
 

Sponsored

raiderjatt02

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Threads
6
Messages
991
Reaction score
1,062
Location
Bay Area, CA
First Name
Jessie
Vehicle(s)
2016 GT350 - Track Pack; 1995 GT - Saleen Clone
The wheels on that first one seriously look like legit CF wheels. I can't believe people would spend that much to convert all of those parts instead of just paying ADM and buying a legit R. :shrug:

Not my money though, so whatever!
 

Shift

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Threads
39
Messages
2,730
Reaction score
1,360
Location
CA
Vehicle(s)
a Ford
Yeah the chassis badge isn't correct, right? The wheels look scary legit...if not the real thing but damn talk about a money pit.
How's it legit? It's got the Mustang symbol on it instead of Ford. All buyers should check for the inner barrel ceramic coating for the most obvious sign.
 

96cobra

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2016
Threads
47
Messages
932
Reaction score
660
Location
USA
Vehicle(s)
GT350R
I'm not surprised people do this but I would never do it myself. The first auction states that the wheels are indeed Carbon Fiber. Add the supercharger and everything else and someone is taking a serious hit on this one.

EDIT: Says aluminum wheels also farther down. Confusing to say the least. Here's a pic of both statements in the first auction.
Screen Shot 2018-04-06 at 1.06.58 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-04-06 at 1.07.54 AM.webp
 

icormba

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2015
Threads
6
Messages
1,224
Reaction score
830
Location
San Jose, Ca
First Name
Chris
Vehicle(s)
Jeep SRT8 / GT350R / FocusRS
How's it legit? It's got the Mustang symbol on it instead of Ford. All buyers should check for the inner barrel ceramic coating for the most obvious sign.
1st auction does picture Carbon Fiber wheels. The front wheel shows dirty white coating. Hard to see, but I can see it. Also... Vibe Motorsports is the only aftermarket replica R wheel maker, that I know of, that uses the stock lug nuts. These are NOT Vibe wheels. Vibe wheels actually have more visible barrel to caliper clearance than the stock carbon fiber wheels. The ones pictured in the auction are carbon fiber wheels.

p.s.
Just like putting Toyos on... they got cheap and purchased Mustang center caps instead of Ford center caps!! :doh: :frusty: ;)

Also note the bright Yellow/Green sticker on the wheel... my R wheels had those same stickers. I bet anything those stickers cost at least $85 each. :shrug: ;)
No way this guy was gonna buy those and stick them on fake wheels.
 

thehunterooo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Threads
23
Messages
3,254
Reaction score
1,065
Location
FL
Vehicle(s)
2006 Corvette
The wheels on that first one seriously look like legit CF wheels. I can't believe people would spend that much to convert all of those parts instead of just paying ADM and buying a legit R. :shrug:

Not my money though, so whatever!
Lol yeah it would have probably been cheaper just buying an R
Sponsored

 
 








Top