Sponsored

WARRANTY BEWARE

mpd3244

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Ecoboost Performance Package, Ruby Red
Beware,
This is coming from a salesman and service tech at a local high volume dealer. Ford, in March 2017, released an updated policy and said that ANY addition to the engine or drive-train that was NOT a Ford part and was NOT installed by a Ford tech WILL void your warranty. How do I know? I have a CAI and a Boomba BOV adapter, and my well maintained ecoboost blew the engine with only 24k miles on it. (before you ask, NO, I was not driving it hard). The BOV adapter doesn't change anything about the way the factory BOV works. It simply creates the signature swoosh sound most turbo drivers enjoy.

Ford denied warranty and said the two parts listed above led to engine failure, which is complete and utter BS.

So, I am still trying to work with them to get my engine replaced, but it doesn't look good for me. If they refuse to fix it under warranty, I do want to invest in an engine that I can truly boost. Any suggestions for a powerplant that'll match up to the auto trans ecoboost?

Thanks...
Sponsored

bigjohns97

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 GT 401a M6 RR
Yep, pretty much common knowledge which is why i am not messing with CAI and tune this time around and just going with a whipple.

HISSMAN

Large Member
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Oxford White GT/PP Premium
That's been the main part of the warranty since warranties were invented. It still depends on the service manager or dealership. Or if it gets looked at by a Ford service rep.

Gigantor

Threads
Reaction score
First Name
Wes
Vehicle(s)
2016 Ford Mustang GT Premium
Ford knows damn well the Ecoboom explode without aftermarket parts too. They need to own their poor engineering

All you have to do is Google Ecoboost engine failures

Omega

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 LB GT PP 401A, Roush 727